The Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2022 will start on October 11 and run until November 5.

The T20 cricket tournament, named after India’s first overseas Test centurion Syed Mushtaq Ali, was first played in 2006–07.

The 2022 edition of the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy will see the 38 participating teams split into three groups of eight teams and two comprising seven.

The groups featuring eight teams will play seven games each, while the seven-team groups will play six matches per team.

The group stage of the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy will be played in a round-robin format from October 11 to October 22.

The knockout rounds, meanwhile, will be held from October 30 to November 5, 2022.

Tamil Nadu are the most successful team in Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy, winning three titles in 2006/07, 2020/21 and 2021/22.

The team, led by Vijay Shankar, won the latest edition in 2021 as they beat Karnataka by four wickets in the final at the Arun Jaitley Stadium in Delhi.

Featured photo: AFP / SAJJAD HUSSAIN