Sydney Sixers and Brisbane Heat will compete in the Big Bash League 2023-24 final at the Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG) in Sydney on January 24. The Sydney Sixers vs Brisbane Heat BBL 2023-24 final will start at 1:45 PM IST. 

The Sixers booked their place in the BBL 2023-24 final with a win in the Qualifier against the same opposition. In that match, the Moises Henriques-led side posted 152/8 in the 20 overs. In reply, Brisbane Heat failed to capitalise as they were bowled out for just 113 runs in the 18th over. 

Brisbane Heat took the longer route to reach the final of the 13th edition of BBL. In the Challenger round, the Nathan McSweeney-led side met Adelaide Strikers, the winner of the Knockout match. Batting first, Brisbane Heat posted a formidable total of 214/7 riding on Josh Brown’s scintillating ton of 140 runs from just 57 balls. In the second innings, the skipper and Spencer Johnson picked up three wickets each to bundle out the Strikers for 160.

Apart from the Qualifier, the two finalists met twice in the ongoing tournament. The first match was abandoned without a ball being bowled while the second match saw Brisbane Heat clinch a three-wicket win by DLS Method. 

Brisbane Heat have qualified for the BBL Final for the second time in a row. In the previous edition, Brisbane Heat lost to Perth Scorchers by five wickets. 

Amassing 313 runs in eight matches, Josh Brown is the top run-getter for Brisbane Heat. His average stands at a competitive 39.12 alongside a powerful strike rate of 152.68. His solitary century of 140 balls in the Challenger stole the show. Representing Sydney Sixers, James Vince has contributed significantly with 244 runs in nine matches. He averages 30.50 with a strike rate of 124.48. Vince has secured two fifties in the tournament. 

In the bowling department, Xavier Bartlett is the force to reckon with. He has picked up 18 wickets in 10 matches at an average of 15.66 and an economy rate of 7.62. Watch out for this bowler from the Brisbane Heat’s line-up. Sydney Sixers’ Ben Dwarshuis stands just behind with 16 wickets in 10 matches. With an average of 15.37 and an economy rate of 6.77, Dwarshuis has the ability to contribute effectively. 

In the 12 seasons of Australia’s franchise T20 tournament, Sydney Sixers have played six finals out of which they have won thrice. The Sixers were also crowned champions of the inaugural edition of BBL in the 2011-12 season. On the other hand, Brisbane Heat have competed twice in the summit clash and won only once so far. 

Where to watch Sydney Sixers vs Brisbane Heat BBL 2023-24 live in India

The Sydney Sixers vs Brisbane Heat BBL 2023-24 final will be telecast live on Star Sports 2 SD and Star Sports 2 HD TV channels in India.

Live streaming of the BBL 2023-24 final will be available on the Disney+ Hotstar app and website in India.

Big Bash League 2023-24 final squads

Sydney Sixers: Moises Henriques (captain), Sean Abbott, Jackson Bird, Joel Davies, Ben Dwarshuis, Jack Edwards, Daniel Hughes, Jordan Silk, Hayden Kerr, Todd Murphy, Steve O’Keefe, Kurtis Patterson, Josh Philippe (wicket-keeper), Tom Curran, James Vince, Rehan Ahmed and Steve Smith

Brisbane Heat: Usman Khawaja (captain), Xavier Bartlett, Josh Brown, Max Bryant, Spencer Johnson, Matthew Kuhnemann, Michael Neser, Marnus Labuschagne, Jimmy Peirson (wicket-keeper), Will Prestwidge, Matt Renshaw, Mitchell Swepson, Colin Munro, Sam Billings (wicket-keeper), Paul Walter and Jack Wildermuth.

Photo credit: Alamy