The Sri Lanka vs Zimbabwe T20 2024 cricket series will start in Colombo on Sunday, January 14.

As per the schedule, all games of the three-match T20I series will be played at the R.Premadasa Stadium. The second and third T20Is are scheduled to be held on January 16 and 18.

Ranked eighth in the ICC men’s T20I rankings, the Sri Lanka cricket team will head into the series high on confidence after clinching the recently-concluded three-match ODI series 2-0 at home against Zimbabwe.

Meanwhile, the hosts have announced their 16-member squad to be led by Wanindu Hasaranga. The star leg-spinner will be taking over as Sri Lanka's full-time captain in international cricket’s shortest format. Meanwhile, Charith Asalanka will be Hasaranga’s deputy.

Veteran all-rounder Angelo Mathews has also returned to the T20I squad for the first time in nearly three years. Mathews last featured in a T20 international against West Indies in March 2021.

Right-arm pacer Nuwan Thushara and spinner Akila Dananjaya have also made a comeback to Sri Lanka’s T20I squad.

Batters Kusal Perera and Dhananjaya de Silva, who didn’t feature in the ODI squad, have also been included in the T20Is squad.

On the other hand, the Zimbabwe cricket team will aim to bounce back in the upcoming T20I series.

Experienced all-rounder Sikandar Raza will lead the visitors, who are currently ranked 13th in the ICC men’s T20I rankings. 

Brian Bennett, Ainsley Ndlovu, and Carl Mumba have replaced Kaitano, Mufudza, and Akram in the Zimbabwe’s T20I squad.

Zimbabwe will miss the services of their dynamic all-rounder Sean Williams, who has failed to recover from his injury.

Sri Lanka vs Zimbabwe head-to-head in T20 cricket

Sri Lanka have never lost to Zimbabwe in T20 international cricket. The Lions have won all three T20Is that they have played against Zimbabwe so far.

The last time these two sides met, Sri Lanka beat Zimbabwe by 82 runs in a group clash of the T20 World Cup 2012 in Hambantota.

Where to watch Sri Lanka vs Zimbabwe T20 2024 live in India?  

The Sri Lanka vs Zimbabwe ODIs 2024 will be telecast live on Sony Sports Ten 5 and Sony Sports Ten 5 HD TV channels in India.

Live streaming of the SL vs ZIM ODIs 2024 will be available on SonyLiv and FanCode in India.

Sri Lanka vs Zimbabwe T20 2024 schedule and live match start times

All times in India Standard Time (IST)

Day and Date



Time (IST)

Sunday, January  14

Sri Lanka vs Zimbabwe, 1st T20I

R.Premadasa Stadium, Colombo

7:00 PM

Tuesday, January  16

Sri Lanka vs Zimbabwe, 2nd T20I

R.Premadasa Stadium, Colombo

7:00 PM

Thursday, January 18

Sri Lanka vs Zimbabwe, 3rd T20I

R.Premadasa Stadium, Colombo

7:00 PM

Sri Lanka vs Zimbabwe T20 2024 squads

Sri Lanka T20 squad: Wanindu Hasaranga (captain), Charith Asalanka, Kusal Mendis (wicket-keeper), Sadeera Samarawickrama (wicket-keeper), Kusal Perera (wicket-keeper), Angelo Mathews, Dasun Shanaka, Dhananjaya de Silva, Kamindu Mendis, Pathum Nissanka, Maheesh Theekshana, Dushmantha Chameera, Dilshan Madushanka, Matheesha Pathirana, Nuwan Thushara, Akila Dananjaya

Zimbabwe T20 squad: Sikandar Raza (captain), Brian Bennett, Ryan Burl, Craig Ervine, Joylord Gumbie (wicket-keeper), Luke Jongwe, Tinashe Kamunhukamwe, Clive Madande (wicket-keeper), Wellington Masakadza, Carl Mumba, Tony Munyonga, Blessing Muzarabani, Ainsley Ndlovu, Richard Ngarava, Milton Shumba

Photo credit: Alamy