Following the conclusion of their ongoing three-match ODI series against Sri Lanka, the Indian cricket team will take on the Island nation in just as many T20Is starting from July 25 to July 29.

India have simply been unplayable in the 50-over series, winning the opening two matches in fine fashion. A win in the second ODI meant that India won the 50-over series and it was their ninth consecutive ODI series win over Sri Lanka.

The T20I series will see opening batsman Shikhar Dhawan continue to lead India as a captain while experienced bowler Bhuvneshwar Kumar will be the vice-captain. Furthermore, like the ODI series, the venue for all three T20Is is going to be R. Premadasa International Cricket Stadium in Colombo.

The upcoming series against Sri Lanka will be India’s first T20I series in four months. Their last T20I series dates back to March 2021 when they defeated a travelling England team 3-2 in a five-match series.

On the other hand, Sri Lanka’s recent T20I experience came in June against England. Unlike India, however, they suffered a 3-0 series whitewash. While Sri Lanka do have a T20I win this year, their last T20I series win dates way back to October 2019 when they defeated Pakistan 3-0. Since then, the team has lost all of their last five T20I series. Furthermore, India have never lost a bilateral T20I series against Sri Lanka.

The two teams have played a total of 19 T20Is, with India winning 13 and losing just five. 

Sri Lanka vs India T20I squads

Sri Lanka squad: Dasun Shanaka (captain), Dhananjaya De Silva (vice-captain), Kusal Janith Perera, Avishka Fernando, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Pathum Nissanka, Charith Asalanka, Wanindu Hasaranga, Ashen Bandara, Minod Bhanuka (wicket-keeper), Lahiru Udara (wicket-keeper), Ramesh Mendis, Chamika Karunaratne, Binura Fernando, Dushmantha Chameera, Lakshan Sandakan, Akila Dhananjaya, Shiran Fernando, Dhananjaya Lakshan, Ishan Jayaratne, Praveen Jayawickrema, Asitha Fernando, Kasun Rajitha, Lahiru Kumara, Isuru Udana

India squad: Shikhar Dhawan (captain), Prithvi Shaw, Devdutt Padikkal, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Suryakumar Yadav, Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya, Nitish Rana, Ishan Kishan (wicket-keeper), Sanju Samson (wicket-keeper), Yuzvendra Chahal, Rahul Chahar, K Gowtham, Krunal Pandya, Kuldeep Yadav, Varun Chakravarthy, Bhuvneshwar Kumar (Vice-captain), Deepak Chahar, Navdeep Saini, Chetan Sakariya

Sri Lanka vs India T20I schedule, fixtures and live India match times

All times in India Standard Time (IST)

Day, Date Match Venue Time (IST)
Sunday, July 25 Sri Lanka vs India, 1st T20I R. Premadasa Stadium 8:00 PM IST
Tuesday, July 27 Sri Lanka vs India, 2nd T20I R. Premadasa Stadium 8:00 PM IST
Thursday, July 29 Sri Lanka vs India, 3rd T20I R. Premadasa Stadium 8:00 PM IST

Where to watch Sri Lanka vs India T20I series live?

Sri Lanka vs India T20I series will be telecast live on Sony TEN 1, Sony TEN 3 (Hindi), Sony TEN 4 (Tamil and Telugu), Sony SIX and their corresponding HD TV channels in India.

Live streaming of Sri Lanka vs India T20I series will be available on the Sony LIV app and website.

Featured photo: AFP / Ishara S. Kodikara