Following the 3-0 thrashing of West Indies in the 20-over format, the Indian cricket team’s next assignment comes against Sri Lanka in a three-match T20I series starting from Thursday, February 24.

The first match will be played at Lucknow’s Ekana Sports City, also known as Bharat Ratna Shri Atal Bihari Vajpayee Ekana Cricket Stadium while the Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association Stadium in Dharamshala will host the last two T20Is.

India have made several changes to the squad that faced West Indies in the shortest format. Against West Indies, Rohit Sharma dropped himself to No 4 to accommodate Ruturaj Gaikwad in the opening slot, but could only muster seven runs. 

But with Virat Kohli given a rest, the Indian captain might as well look to bat at No 3. Apart from Kohli, Rishabh Pant, KL Rahul and Shardul Thakur are also not part of the squad.

As far as injuries are concerned, hard-hitter Suryakumar Yadav and bowler Deepak Chahar have been ruled out. On the other hand, Jasprit Bumrah has returned to the team after a much-deserved rest and has been named the vice-captain.

India last squared off against Sri Lanka in July 2021. Back then, the Indian cricket team had toured the island nation for a three-match ODI and T20I series. The visitors won the 50-overs series 2-1 but lost the T20I series.

India vs Sri Lanka T20I head-to-head record

The two teams have played a total of 22 T20Is against each other, with India winning 14 and the Lankan Lions winning seven. The record, however, completely alters when it comes to playing on Indian soil. India have won eight of the 11 games played at home while losing just two.

Sri Lanka tour of India T20Is 2022 squads

India squad: Rohit Sharma (Captain), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shreyas Iyer, Sanju Samson, Ishan Kishan (wicket-keeper), Venkatesh Iyer, Deepak Hooda, Ravindra Jadeja, Yuzvendra Chahal, Ravi Bishnoi, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Siraj, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Harshal Patel, Jasprit Bumrah (vice-captain), Avesh Khan

Sri Lanka squad: Dasun Shanaka (Captain), Pathum Nissanka, Kusal Mendis (wicket-keeper), Charith Asalanka (vice-captain), Dinesh Chandimal, Danushka Gunathilaka, Kamil Mishara, Janith Liyanage, Wanindu Hasaranga, Chamika Karunaratne, Dushmantha Chameera, Lahiru Kumara, Binura Fernando, Shiran Fernando, Maheesh Theekshana, Jeffrey Vandersay, Praveen Jayawickrama and Ashian Daniel (subject to ministerial approval)

Sri Lanka tour of India T20Is 2022: Schedule and India match times

Date and day Match Venue Time (IST)
Thursday, February 24 India vs Sri Lanka, 1st T20I Ekana Sports City 7:00 PM IST
Saturday, February 26 India vs Sri Lanka, 2nd T20I HPCA Stadium 7:00 PM IST
Sunday, February 27 India vs Sri Lanka, 3rd T20I HPCA Stadium 7:00 PM IST

Where to watch the Sri Lanka tour of India T20I 2022 live in India?

Live telecast of the Sri Lanka tour of India T20Is 2022 can be viewed on Star Sports 1, Star Sports 1 Hindi and their corresponding HD TV channels in India

Fans can also enjoy the coverage in regional languages on Star Sports 1 Tamil, Star Sports 1 Telugu and Star Sports 1 Kannada. Meanwhile, DD sports will also broadcast the match.

Live streaming of the Sri Lanka tour of India T20Is 2022 will be available on Disney + Hotstar and JioTV.

SportsAdda will bring you the live score of the Sri Lanka tour of India.

Follow us on Telegram for the latest updates from the world of sports!

Interested in cricket betting? Click here to check out the list of top sites.

Featured photo: AFP / Punit Paranjpe