The South Africa women's national cricket team will host Sri Lanka in a three-match T20 international series starting on Wednesday, March 27.

As per the South Africa Women vs Sri Lanka Women T20 2024 schedule, the first game will be played at the Willowmoore Park in Benoni on March 27.

The two teams will later travel to Potchefstroom to play the second T20I to be hosted at the Senwes Park on March 30.

The third and final T20I of the series is scheduled to be held at the Buffalo Park in East London on April 3.

Ranked fifth in the ICC women’s T20I team rankings, South Africa have announced their 15-member squad to be led by Laura Wolvaardt.

The 16-year-old wicketkeeper-batter Karabo Meso has received her maiden international call-up. Meso impressed in the recent U19 Women’s T20 World Cup.

All-rounder Annerie Dercksen and pacer Tumi Sekhukhune have also been included in the squad in place of injured Ayanda Hlubi, Mieke de Ridder, and Delmi Tucker. 

Few of the Proteas players recently featured in the African Games 2023. South Africa Women lost to Zimbabwe Women in the Super Over in the final. 

On the other hand, the Sri Lanka women's national cricket team will be led by their talisman Chamari Athapaththu.

Harshitha Samarawickrama, Anushka Sanjeewani, Sugandika Kumari, Kavisha Dilhari, Inoshi Fernando and Prasadini Weerakkody are the other notable inclusions in the Sri Lankan squad.

Currently ranked seventh in the ICC women’s T20I team rankings, Sri Lanka last played a T20I in the Asian Games in September.

Under the leadership of Chamari Athapaththu, Sri Lanka Women reached the final before losing to India by 19 runs.

South Africa Women vs Sri Lanka Women T20 head-to-head 

South Africa Women hold a superior head-to-head record against Sri Lanka Women in T20 international cricket, winning 10 of the 14 matches that they have played so far. On the other hand, Sri Lanka Women have registered just four victories so far.

The last time these two sides met, Sri Lanka Women stunned South Africa Women by three runs in a thrilling ICC Women's T20 World Cup clash in Cape Town in February 2023.

Where to watch South Africa Women vs Sri Lanka Women T20 2024 live in India?

Live streaming of the South Africa Women vs Sri Lanka Women T20Is 2024 will be available on the FanCode app and website in India.

There will be no live telecast of the upcoming women’s T20I series on any TV channel in India. 

South Africa Women vs Sri Lanka Women T20 2024 schedule and live match start times

All times in India Standard Time (IST)

Day and Date



Time (IST)

Wednesday, March 27

South Africa Women vs Sri Lanka Women, 1st T20I

Willowmoore Park, Benoni

9:30 PM IST

Saturday, March 30

South Africa Women vs Sri Lanka Women, 2nd T20I

Senwes Park, Potchefstroom

5:30 PM IST

Wednesday, April 3

South Africa Women vs Sri Lanka Women, 3rd T20I

Buffalo Park, East London

9:30 PM IST

South Africa Women vs Sri Lanka Women T20 2024 squads

South Africa Women T20 squad: Laura Wolvaardt (captain), Anneke Bosch, Tazmin Brits (wicketkeeper), Nadine de Klerk, Annerie Dercksen, Sinalo Jafta (wicketkeeper), Marizanne Kapp, Ayabonga Khaka, Masabata Klaas, Suné Luus, Eliz-Mari Marx, Karabo Meso (wicketkeeper), Nonkululeko Mlaba, Tumi Sekhukhune, Chloé Tryon

Sri Lanka Women T20 squad: Chamari Athapaththu (captain), Vishmi Gunaratne, Nilakshi de Silva, Harshitha Samarawickrama, Kavisha Dilhari, Hasini Perera, Anushka Sanjeewani (wicketkeeper), Oshadi Ranasinghe, Udeshika Prabodhani, Inoka Ranaweera, Achini Kulasuriya, Hansima Karunaratne, Imesha Dulani, Kawya Kavindi, Inoshi Fernando, Sugandika Kumari, Prasadini Weerakkody

Photo credit: Alamy