The South Africa cricket team will take on Pakistan in the first of the three-match ODI series at the SuperSport Park in Centurion on Friday, April 2.

The hosts will be led by their newly-appointed limited-overs captain Temba Bavuma, who has replaced Quinton de Kock, becoming South Africa's first permanently-appointed black African captain.

Temba Bavuma has been appointed as the white-ball captain until 2023 as he will lead the Proteas side for two T20 World Cups in 2021 and 2022 and one ODI World Cup in 2023.

South Africa will miss the services of Quinton de Kock, Kagiso Rabada, David Miller, Lungi Ngidi and Anrich Nortje after the second ODI at the Wanderers as they will leave the Proteas camp to travel to play in the Indian T20 League.

On the other hand, the Babar Azam-led Pakistan cricket team will be confident of clinching the 50-over series having beaten South Africa both in the T20I and Test series at home this year.

Meanwhile, in a major exclusion, the Pakistan selectors have not picked experienced all-rounder Imad Wasim for the ODI series.

In the South Africa vs Pakistan ODI head-to-head record, the Proteas hold a massive advantage, having won 50 of the 79 matches while Pakistan have won just 28.

South Africa vs Pakistan ODI full squads

South Africa ODI squad: Temba Bavuma (captain), Quinton de Kock (wicket-keeper), Beuran Hendricks, Heinrich Klaasen (wicket-keeper), Janneman Malan, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje, Andile Phehlukwayo, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi, Jon-Jon Smuts, Rassie van der Dussen, Junior Dala, Lutho Sipamla, Wiaan Mulder, Sisanda Magala, Kyle Verreynne, Daryn Dupavillon, Lizaad Williams

Pakistan ODI squad: Babar Azam (captain), Abdullah Shafique, Fakhar Zaman, Danish Aziz, Imam ul Haq, Saud Shakeel, Haider Ali, Faheem Ashraf, Muhammad Nawaz, Muhammad Wasim jr, Shadab Khan (VC), Mohammad Rizwan (wicket-keeper), Sarfaraz Ahmed (wicket-keeper), Haris Rauf, Hasan Ali, Muhammad Hasnain, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Usman Qadir

South Africa vs Pakistan ODI schedule, fixtures and live India match times

All times are in Indian Standard Time (IST)

Day, Date


Time (IST)


Friday, April 2

South Africa vs Pakistan, 1st ODI

1:30 PM IST

SuperSport Park, Centurion

Sunday, April 4

South Africa vs Pakistan, 2nd ODI

1:30 PM IST

The Wanderers, Johannesburg

Wednesday, April 7

South Africa vs Pakistan, 3rd ODI

1:30 PM IST

SuperSport Park, Centurion

Where to watch South Africa vs Pakistan ODIs live in India?

The South Africa vs Pakistan ODI series will be telecast live on the Star Sports 1 HD and the corresponding SD TV channels in India.

Live streaming of the SA vs PAK ODIs will be available on Disney+ Hotstar.

For South Africa vs Pakistan odds and betting, visit and look for ODI Series South Africa vs Pakistan.

Feature photo: Twitter/ICC