The South Africa national cricket team will lock horns with Australia in a three-match T20 international series starting on Wednesday, August 30.

As per the Australia tour of South Africa 2023 schedule, all the three T20Is of the upcoming series will be played at the Kingsmead Cricket Ground in Durban.

Ahead of the​​ T20I series, South Africa have announced their 16-man squad to be led by captain Aiden Markram.

Young talented batter Dewald Brevis has received his maiden call-up to the South Africa T20I squad.

All-rounder Donovan Fereira and fast bowler Gerald Coetzee have also been added in the Proteas T20I squad. 

World’s fifth-ranked T20I men’s outfit has also received a massive boost with the return of their experienced left-arm spinner Keshav Maharaj. The 33-year-old will be available for the second and third T20I.

However, South Africa have rested Quinton de Kock, Kagiso Rabada, Anrich Nortje and Heinrich Klaasen for the Australia T20I series.

On the other hand, all-rounder Mitchell Marsh will lead the Australian cricket team against South Africa in the upcoming three-match T20I series.

The visitors will miss the services of several of their star T20I players including the likes of Glenn Maxwell, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Pat Cummins, Josh Hazlewood, Cameron Green and David Warner.

Flamboyant all-rounder Maxwell has been ruled out of the T20I series after sustaining an ankle injury during training. Wicketkeeper-batter Matthew Wade will replace Maxwell in the upcoming T20I series.

South Africa vs Australia T20I head-to-head

Australia have a superior head-to-head record against South Africa in T20 international cricket, winning 14 of the 22 matches that they have played so far. South Africa have registered eight victories so far.

The last time these two sides met, the Aaron Finch-led Australia defeated South Africa by five wickets in their ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021 clash at the Sheikh Zayed Cricket Stadium in Abu Dhabi.

Where to watch South Africa vs Australia T20I 2023 live in India?  

The South Africa vs Australia T20I 2023 will be telecast live on Star Sports 2 and Star Sports 2 HD TV channels in India.

Live streaming of the South Africa vs Australia T20I 2023 will be available on the Disney+ Hotstar app and website in India.

South Africa vs Australia T20I 2023 schedule and live match times

All times in India Standard Time (IST)

Day and Date



Time (IST)

Wednesday, August 30

South Africa vs Australia, 1st T20I

Kingsmead, Durban

9:30 PM IST

Friday, September 1

South Africa vs Australia, 2nd T20I

Kingsmead, Durban

9:30 PM IST

Sunday, September 3

South Africa vs Australia, 3rd T20I

Kingsmead, Durban

5:30 PM IST

South Africa vs Australia T20I 2023 squads

South Africa T20I squad: Aiden Markram (captain), Temba Bavuma, Matthew Breetzke (wicket-keeper), Dewald Brevis, Gerald Coetzee, Donovan Ferreira (wicket-keeper), Bjorn Fortuin, Reeza Hendricks, Marco Jansen, Sisanda Magala, Keshav Maharaj, Lungi Ngidi, Tabraiz Shamsi, Tristan Stubbs (wicket-keeper), Lizaad Williams, Rassie van der Dussen

Australia T20I squad: Mitchell Marsh (captain), Sean Abbott, Jason Behrendorff, Tim David, Nathan Ellis, Aaron Hardie, Travis Head, Josh Inglis (wicket-keeper), Spencer Johnson, Matt Short, Marcus Stoinis, Ashton Turner, Matthew Wade (wicket-keeper), Adam Zampa

Photo credit: Alamy