South Africa announced a 24-man squad on Friday for the white-ball series against England which gets underway on November 27.

Pacer Dale Steyn was not included in the line-up. The 37-year-old retired from Test cricket in August 2019 as South Africa’s all-time leading wicket-taker in the format but he had stated that he would be available for limited-overs internationals and went on to play in two Twenty20 internationals against England and one against Australia during the 2019/20 season and was expected to play in the ICC T20 World Cup in Australia between October and November 2020. The tournament, however, was delayed because of the pandemic.

The 24-player squad includes one uncapped player in fast bowler Glenton Stuurman.

The matches will be held in the Western Cape, in Cape Town and Paarl, and as has been the process since the pandemic, the South African team will be limited to the hotel premises and cricket grounds and spectators will not be allowed at the matches.

"With the bio-secure environment, where movement in and out of the squad will be limited, we had to make sure that we have all our bases covered with the 24 players," said Victor Mpitsang, the new selection convener.

"It also gives the team the opportunity to play some inter-squad games just to make sure that they sharpen up those white-ball skills before the series start," said Graeme Smith, CSA's director of cricket. "It's been a long winter and it's really pleasing that we finally have an imminent international tour on our shores to look forward to."

"This is an important season for the team, with an ICC T20 World Cup coming up late next year in India."

"I'm sure that the T20 series, in particular, is going to boast some explosive performances for cricket fans to enjoy at home. An ODI series against the reigning world champions will always bring a level of excitement of its own."

South Africa squad

Quinton de Kock (captain), Temba Bavuma, Junior Dala, Faf du Plessis, Bjorn Fortuin, Beuran Hendricks, Reeza Hendricks, Heinrich Klaasen, George Linde, Keshav Maharaj, Janneman Malan, David Miller, Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje, Andile Phehlukwayo, Dwaine Pretorius, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi, Lutho Sipamla, Jon-Jon Smuts, Glenton Stuurman, Pite van Biljon, Rassie van der Dussen, Kyle Verreynne.

Feature image courtesy: AFP / Barco Greeff