The Ranji Trophy 2022-23 season begins on December 13, 2022, as Madhya Pradesh begin their title defence against Jammu and Kashmir, among other matches, on the opening day. The tournament continues until February 20, 2023, with 135 matches scheduled this season.

A total of 38 teams will participate in the 88th edition of India’s senior First Class cricket tournament. The tournament returns to its original format after the 2021-22 season was reduced to a shorter format due to COVID-19. 

The teams are divided into five groups - four groups of eight teams making the Elite category, while six feature in the Plate group. The group stage matches will be of four days, while the knockout ties will be played for five days.

The top two teams from the Elite groups will make the quarter-finals this season. On the other hand, the bottom-placed teams will be relegated to the Plate group for the 2023-24 season. Live broadcast of Ranji Trophy will be available on the Star Sports Network.

Meanwhile, one Elite and one Plate team will be named winners of the Ranji Trophy 2022-23 edition. The Plate finalists will be promoted to the Elite groups for next season.

Mumbai have dominated the Ranji Trophy, winning the title on a whopping 41 occasions. They have also made 46 final appearances, the most in the tournament’s history. Karnataka are the next most successful team, winning eight trophies.

Ranji Trophy 2022-23 groups

Elite A: Baroda, Bengal, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Nagaland, Odisha, Uttarakhand and Uttar Pradesh.

Elite B: Andhra Pradesh, Assam, Maharashtra, Mumbai, Saurashtra, Tamil Nadu, Hyderabad and Delhi.

Elite C: Kerala, Goa, Puducherry, Jharkhand, Chhattisgarh, Rajasthan, Services and Karnataka.

Elite D: Punjab, Jammu and Kashmir, Chandigarh, Madhya Pradesh, Tripura, Railways, Gujarat and Vidarbha.

Plate Group: Arunachal Pradesh, Bihar, Meghalaya, Sikkim, Manipur and Mizoram.

Where to watch Ranji Trophy 2022-23 live?

Live streaming of Ranji Trophy 2022-23 will be available on the Disney+ Hotstar app and website.

Live telecast of Ranji Trophy will be available on Star Sports 2 and Star Sports 2 HD TV channels.

Featured image: Alamy