The 2014 Indian T20 league finalists Punjab had already undergone a revamp ahead of the 2021 mini-auction. KL Rahul-led side changed their name and logo in a bid to bring a change in fortune for the Punjab-based franchise.

The Punjab team has qualified for an Indian T20 League final only once, in 2014 and they have ended in the last four only one other time - in the inaugural edition of 2008. 

The franchise finished sixth in the points table over the last two seasons, in 2019 and 2020.  

Ahead of the Indian T20 League 2021 auction, Punjab had the biggest amount remaining in the purse (Rs 53.2 crore) after releasing as many as seven players while retaining 16 cricketers. 

During the Indian T20 League 2021 auction, Punjab bought as many as nine players, including Jhye Richardson, who was this year's highest wicket-taker in BBL, and the current world no.1 T20 batsman Dawid Malan.

The franchise also bought young Indian middle-order batsman Shahrukh Khan for 5.25 crore.

Players Bought: Jhye Richardson (14 crore), Shahrukh Khan (5.25 crore), Riley Meredith (8 crore), Moises Henriques (4.2 crore), Dawid Malan (1.5 crore), Jalaj Saxena (30 lakh), Fabian Allen, (75 lakh) Saurabh Kumar (20 lakh), Utkarsh Singh (20 lakh)

Team Punjab Full Squad: KL Rahul, Arshdeep Singh, Chris Gayle, Darshan Nalkande, Harpreet Brar, Mandeep Singh, Mayank Agarwal, Mohammed Shami, M Ashwin, Nicholas Pooran, Sarfaraz Khan, Deepak Hooda, Ishan Porel, Ravi Bishnoi, Chris Jordan, Prabhsimran Singh, Jhye Richardson, Shahrukh Khan, Riley Meredith, Moises Henriques, Dawid Malan, Jalaj Saxena, Fabian Allen, Saurabh Kumar, Utkarsh Singh

Feature image courtesy: IPL, BCCI 2021.