After suffering a 2-0 loss in the Test series against Sri Lanka, the Lankans’ tour of New Zealand continues on Saturday, March 25.

New Zealand will be hoping to carry their winning momentum from the Tests into the ODI series and will back themselves to produce solid displays.

The first match of this ODI series will be played at Eden Park, while the second game will be held at Hagley Oval and the third in Seddon Park.

New Zealand - the 2015 and 2019 ODI World Cup runner-ups - have lost three out of their last five ODIs and are third in the ICC 50-over rankings, while 1996 World Cup winners Sri Lanka are ranked eighth and have just one win in their last five games in the format.

As far as the head-to-head in ODIs between these sides go, New Zealand lead Sri Lanka having won 49 out of the 99 games.

Sri Lanka, meanwhile, has won 41 of these encounters against the Kiwis and there have also been eight no results and one tie in these fixtures. New Zealand has also won the last five encounters against Sri Lanka.

The upcoming series will be a part of the ODI World Cup Super Series and shall serve as Sri Lanka’s last chance to secure automatic qualification for the 50-over World Cup later this year.

The Lankans are currently ranked 10th with 77 points in the ODI World Cup Super Series, one point behind South Africa in ninth and 11 points behind West Indies in eighth.

Should they win this series, the Lankans can relax as their World Cup qualification for the 2023 edition will be all but secure, meaning they won’t have to go through further qualifying rounds.

Where to watch New Zealand vs Sri Lanka 2023 ODI series live in India?

Live streaming of the NZ vs SL 2023 ODI series in India will be available on the Amazon Prime app and website. 

There will be no telecast for New Zealand vs Sri Lanka 2023 ODI series in India.

New Zealand vs Sri Lanka 2023 ODI series schedule and match times in India

As per Indian Standard Times (IST)

Start Date




March 25, Saturday

New Zealand vs Sri Lanka first ODI match

Eden Park, Auckland

6:30 AM

March 28, Tuesday

New Zealand vs Sri Lanka second ODI match

Hagley Oval, Christchurch 

6:30 AM

March 31, Friday

New Zealand vs Sri Lanka third ODI match

Seddon Park, Hamilton

6:30 AM

New Zealand vs Sri Lanka 2023 ODI series squads

New Zealand: Tom Latham (c), Finn Allen, Tom Blundell, Chad Bowes, Michael Bracewell, Mark Chapman, Lockie Ferguson, Matt Henry, Ben Lister, Daryl Mitchell, Henry Nicholls, Glenn Phillips, Henry Shipley, Ish Sodhi, Blair Tickner, Will Young

Sri Lanka: Dasun Shanaka (c), Pathum Nissanka, Nuwanidu Fernando, Kusal Mendis (wk, vc), Angelo Mathews, Charith Asalanka, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Dhananjaya De Silva, Sahan Arachchige, Wanindu Hasaranga, Dunith Wellalage, Maheesh Theekshana, Kasun Rajitha, Lahiru Kumara, Pramod Madushan, Dilshan Madushanka, Chamika Karunaratne, Matheesha Pathirana


Photo credits: Alamy