The New Zealand cricket team will take on South Africa in a two-match Test series starting on Thursday, February 17.

The upcoming series will be part of the ongoing Word Test Championship cycle. 

It will be the first time in 14 years that New Zealand will field a Test squad that doesn’t include captain Kane Williamson or record run-getter Ross Taylor

While Taylor retired from Tests last month after a two-match series against Bangladesh, Williamson is still nursing a persistent elbow injury. Tom Latham will continue to lead the inaugural World Test Championship winners in the two-game Test series against the Proteas.

Trent Boult is another New Zealand player set to sit out the first Test against South Africa as he will be with his family for the birth of his child.

As a result of the multiple unavailabilities, the Black Caps have handed rookie players Cam Fletcher and Blair Tickner their maiden Test call-ups besides also recalling Colin de Grandhomme and Hamish Rutherford to their 15-man squad.

South Africa, meanwhile, have announced a 17-member squad for the upcoming Test series. The Dean Elgar-led side will be without Quinton de Kock, who announced his retirement from red-ball cricket in December 2021.

The visitors will also be without the injured Anrich Nortje for the tour and have added young pacer Marco Jansen to the squad instead. The 21-year-old is coming off an impressive Test debut series against India, where he took 19 wickets.

The two-match Test series against the Kiwis will be played at the Hagley Oval in Christchurch.

New Zealand vs South Africa Test squads

New Zealand Test squad: Tom Latham (captain), Tom Blundell (wicket-keeper), Devon Conway, Colin de Grandhomme, Cam Fletcher (wicket-keeper), Matt Henry, Kyle Jamieson, Daryl Mitchell, Henry Nicholls, Rachin Ravindra, Hamish Rutherford, Tim Southee, Blair Tickner, Neil Wagner, Will Young

South Africa Test squad: Dean Elgar (captain), Temba Bavuma (vice-captain), Simon Harmer, Kagiso Rabada, Sarel Erwee, Keshav Maharaj, Lungi Ngidi, Aiden Markram, Wiaan Mulder, Keegan Petersen, Rassie van der Dussen, Kyle Verreynne (wicket-keeper), Marco Jansen, Glenton Stuurman, Lutho Simpala, Ryan Rickelton, Duanne Olivier

New Zealand vs South Africa Test schedule, fixtures and live India match times

All times in India Standard Time (IST)



Time (IST)


February 17-21

New Zealand vs South Africa, 1st Test

3:30 AM

Hagley Oval, Christchurch

February 25 - March 1

New Zealand vs South Africa, 2nd Test

3:30 AM

Hagley Oval, Christchurch

Where to watch New Zealand vs South Africa Test series live in India?

Live streaming of the New Zealand vs South Africa Test series will be available on Amazon Prime Video. The match will begin at 3:30 AM IST.

There will be no telecast of the New Zealand vs South Africa Test series on any TV channel in India.

SportsAdda will bring you New Zealand vs South Africa Test live scores.

Play fantasy cricket with SportsAdda. Create your team, track your progress and win prizes. Start here.

Featured photo: AFP / SANKA VIDANAGAMA