The Bangladesh cricket team will start their tour of New Zealand with the first of the three-match ODI series on Saturday, March 20 in the wee hours in India at the University Oval in Dunedin.

The ODI series will be the Black Caps’ first cricket assignment at home since they played Australia in March last year before the pandemic brought cricket to a standstill.

Hosts New Zealand are using this opportunity to test out their emerging players and have named three uncapped players in Devon Conway, Will Young, and Daryl Mitchell for the ODI series.

“Devon, Will and Daryl are quality players and have enjoyed impressive seasons so far, and we’re looking forward to giving them further opportunities to develop their game at this level,” New Zealand cricket team selector Gavin Larsen said.

At the same time, it was announced that captain Kane Williamson is ruled out with an elbow injury and Tom Latham will lead the Kiwis in his stead.

“Whilst it’s disappointing to lose a player of Kane’s class, Tom has proven experience in taking the reins and I know he’s excited to lead the side,” Larsen added.

Bangladesh, on the other hand, have recalled Mosaddek Hossain after his fine performances in the Bangabandhu T20 Cup while Shakib Al Hasan, who suffered a thigh injury during the Test series against West Indies, is out on paternity leave.

The three-game ODI series is part of the ICC Cricket World Cup Super League. Bangladesh has picked up all 30 points so far with a 3-0 whitewash of the West Indies, whereas New Zealand will play their first set of fixtures for the league.

New Zealand vs Bangladesh ODIs schedule, fixtures, and live India match times

All times are in Indian Standard Time (IST)

Date and Day Match Time (IST) Venue
Saturday, March 20 New Zealand vs Bangladesh, 1st ODI 3:30 AM IST University Oval, Dunedin
Tuesday, March 23 New Zealand vs Bangladesh, 2nd ODI 6:30 AM IST Hagley Oval, Christchurch
Friday, March 26 New Zealand vs Bangladesh, 3rd ODI 3:30 AM IST Basin Reserve, Wellington

New Zealand vs Bangladesh ODI squads

New Zealand ODI squad: Tom Latham (captain and wicket-keeper), Martin Guptill, Ross Taylor, Trent Boult, James Neesham, Mitchell Santner, Devon Conway, Matt Henry, Kyle Jamieson, Daryl Mitchell, Henry Nicholls, Tim Southee, Will Young

Bangladesh ODI squad: Tamim Iqbal (captain), Mosaddek Hossain, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mohammad Mithun, Liton Das, Mahmudullah, Afif Hossain, Soumya Sarkar, Mohammad Naim, Taskin Ahmed, Al-Amin Hossain, Shoriful Islam, Hasan Mahmud, Mohammad Saifuddin, Mustafizur Rahman, Mehidy Hasan, Rubel Hossain, Mahedi Hasan, Nasum Ahmed

Where to watch New Zealand vs Bangladesh ODI series live in India?

Live streaming of New Zealand vs Bangladesh ODI series will be available on the FanCode app.

The series will not be telecast on any TV channel in India.

For New Zealand vs Bangladesh ODI live scores, visit SportsAdda.

Feature image courtesy: AFP / Adrian Dennis