Reigning World Test Champions New Zealand will take on Bangladesh in a two-match Test series starting on Saturday, January 1.

The upcoming series will be part of the ongoing Word Test Championship cycle. 

Ahead of the series, the hosts have suffered a massive blow as their regular captain Kane Williamson has been ruled out due to an elbow injury. In Williamson’s absence, Tom Latham has been named captain for the two Test matches.

"It's obviously disappointing not to have Kane available for this series but, as we noted in India, he is undergoing a sustained period of rest followed by rehabilitation, strengthening and gradual batting loading,” New Zealand head coach Gary Stead said.

On the other hand, veteran batter Ross Tayler has announced that the Bangladesh Test series will be his last in red-ball cricket. 

Meanwhile, wicket-keeper batter Devon Conway, who sustained a hand injury during the T20 World Cup 2021, has been added to the squad after missing the recent tour of India. 

Interestingly, left-arm spinner Ajaz Patel, who created history by becoming the third bowler to take 10 wickets in Test innings, has been excluded from the 13-man squad. 

Fast bowlers Trent Boult and Matt Henry have returned to the squad after they were rested for the two-match Test series against India.

Bangladesh have also announced their 18-member squad for the upcoming Test series. The Mominul Haque-led side has included star all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan after much debate over his participation in the series. 

The visitors have excluded Saif Hassan, Rezaul Islam Raza and Naim Hassan from the squad while added fast bowler Shoriful Islam for the New Zealad tour. 

New Zealand vs Bangladesh Test squads

New Zealand Test squad: Tom Latham (captain), Tom Blundell (wicket-keeper), Trent Boult, Devon Conway (wicket-keeper), Matt Henry, Kyle Jamieson, Daryl Mitchell, Henry Nicholls, Rachin Ravindra, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, Neil Wagner, Will Young

Bangladesh Test squad: Mominul Haque (captain), Shadman Islam, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Mushfiqur Rahim (wicket-keeper), Shakib Al Hasan, Liton Kumer Das (wicket-keeper), Nurul Hasan Sohan (wicket-keeper), Yasir Ali Rabbi, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Taijul Islam, Taskin Ahmed, Abu Jayed Chowdhury Rahi, Ebadot Hossain, Shoriful Islam, Syed Khaled Ahmed, Shohidul Islam, Mahmudul Hasan Joy, Md Naim Sheikh

New Zealand vs Bangladesh Test schedule, fixtures and live India match times

All times in India Standard Time (IST)



Time (IST)


January 1-5

New Zealand vs Bangladesh, 1st Test

3:30 AM

Bay Oval, Mount Maunganui

January 9-13

New Zealand vs Bangladesh, 2nd Test

3:30 AM

Hagley Oval, Christchurch

Where to watch New Zealand vs Bangladesh Test series live in India?  

Live streaming of the New Zealand vs Bangladesh Test series will be available on Amazon Prime Video.

There will be no telecast of the New Zealand vs Bangladesh Test series on any TV channel in India.

SportsAdda will bring you New Zealand vs Bangladesh Test live scores.

Play fantasy cricket with SportsAdda. Create your team, track your progress and win prizes. Start here.

Featured photo: Marty MELVILLE / AFP