The New Zealand vs Australia T20 2024 cricket series will start at the Sky Stadium in Wellington on Wednesday, February 21.

After the opening T20I in Wellington, the two sides will travel to Auckland to play the remaining two games to be hosted at Eden Park on February 23 and 25. 

The upcoming three-match T20I series between the two finalists of T20 World Cup 2021 is now part of the Chappell-Hadlee trophy as per the latest development. 

Earlier, the Chappell-Hadlee trophy was awarded to the winner of the bilateral ODI series between Australia and New Zealand. 

Now, the T20Is between the trans-Tasman rivals have been added to the series and a point structure will be made for both T20I and ODI series to determine the winner. 

Meanwhile, the New Zealand national cricket team has announced their 14-man T20I squad to be led by Mitchell Santner. 

Star pacer Trent Boult has returned to the T20I squad for the first time since November 2022. Boult has been added for the second and third T20Is. He will replace veteran fast bowler Tim Southee, who will play only the first T20I in order to manage his workload.

Uncapped all-rounder Josh Clarkson has also been included in the T20I squad.

The Kiwis will miss the services of former captain Kane Williamson, who is on paternity leave. The hosts will also be without Daryl Mitchell due to injury.

On the other hand, the Australia national cricket team will head into the series after registering a 2-1 win over West Indies in the recently-concluded three-match T20I series at home.

Ranked fourth in the ICC Men’s T20I rankings, Australia will be led by star all-rounder Mitchell Marsh.

The likes of Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Steve Smith, Travis Head and Josh Hazlewood have returned to the squad after being rested in the T20I series against West Indies. Fast bowler Nathan Ellis has also been added after he recovered from a rib injury. 

New Zealand, on the other hand, are ranked second in the ICC Men’s T20I rankings and they will head into this contest after a 4-1 triumph over Pakistan in their previous T20 series.

Since the inception of the Chappell-Hadlee trophy in December 2004, Australia have clinched it on seven occasions while New Zealand have won it four times.

New Zealand vs Australia head-to-head in T20 cricket

Australia have a superior head-to-head record against New Zealand in T20 cricket, winning 10 of the 16 matches that they have played so far. New Zealand have registered six victories so far.

The last time these two sides met in the shortest format, New Zealand beat Australia by 89 runs in an ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022 clash in Sydney.

Where to watch New Zealand vs Australia T20 2024 series live in India

Live streaming of the New Zealand vs Australia T20 2024 series will be available on Amazon Prime Video in India.

There will be no live telecast of the NZ vs AUS T20Is on any TV channel in India.

New Zealand vs Australia T20 2024 schedule and live match start times

All match times are in India Standard Time (IST)

Day and Date



Time (IST)

Wednesday,  February 21

New Zealand vs Australia, 1st T20I

Sky Stadium, Wellington

11:40 AM

Friday, February 23

New Zealand vs Australia, 2nd T20I

Eden Park, Auckland

12:40 PM

Sunday, February 25

New Zealand vs Australia, 3rd T20I

Eden Park, Auckland

6:30 AM 

New Zealand vs Australia T20 2024 squads

New Zealand T20 squad: Mitchell Santner (captain), Finn Allen, Trent Boult (matches 2 & 3), Mark Chapman, Josh Clarkson, Devon Conway (wicketkeeper), Lockie Ferguson, Matt Henry, Adam Milne, Glenn Phillips, Rachin Ravindra, Tim Seifert (wicketkeeper), Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee (Match 1)

Australia T20 squad: Mitchell Marsh (captain), Pat Cummins, Tim David, Nathan Ellis, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Josh Inglis (wicketkeeper), Spencer Johnson, Glenn Maxwell, Matt Short, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Matthew Wade (wicketkeeper), David Warner, Adam Zampa

Photo credit: Alamy