New Zealand, Pakistan and Bangladesh will continue their preparations for the upcoming T20 World Cup as the three teams lock horns in a seven-match T20I Tri-Series beginning October 7. All the matches are scheduled to take place at Hagley Oval in Christchurch, New Zealand.

Each team will face the other twice before the top-two meet in the final to be held on October 14.

Hosts New Zealand have been in terrific form in T20Is this year, winning all four away series, played against Ireland, Scotland, Netherlands and West Indies. Moreover, they won nine matches and lost just one in these four tours combined, indicating their dominance in this format. 

Meanwhile, Pakistan will look to bounce back from a disappointing yet exciting 4-3 T20I series loss against England recently. The Asia Cup 2022 finalists’ primary focus will be on their batting as none of their batters really clicked against the Englishmen apart from Mohammad Rizwan and Babar Azam, who are in great form in the buildup to the T20 World Cup.

In the prolonged absence of lead pacer Shaheen Afridi, the onus will be on senior fast bowler Haris Rauf to lead the bowling department.

Talking about the Bangladesh side, their form has been below-par in the shortest format. Keeping aside a 2-0 T20I series win over UAE, they endured a forgettable Asia Cup campaign where they were eliminated in the first round itself. Furthermore, the Bangla Tigers haven’t won a single bilateral T20I series out of the four played since November.

With experienced Shakib Al Hasan back with the captain’s armband, Bangladesh can hope for a change in fortunes ahead of the much-anticipated mega event.

Interestingly, this will be the first tri-series in any format featuring three full-member nations in more than three years. 

New Zealand T20I Tri-Series 2022 squads

New Zealand: Kane Williamson (captain), Finn Allen, Trent Boult, Michael Bracewell, Mark Chapman, Devon Conway, Lockie Ferguson, Martin Guptill, Adam Milne, James Neesham, Glenn Phillips, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee

Bangladesh: Shakib Al Hasan (captain), Nurul Hasan, Nasum Ahmed, Taskin Ahmed, Yasir Ali, Litton Das, Mehidy Hasan, Afif Hossain, Ebadot Hossain, Mosaddek Hossain, Hasan Mahmud, Mustafizur Rahman, Sabbir Rahman, Mohammad Saifuddin, Najmul Hossain Shanto

Pakistan: Babar Azam (captain), Shadab Khan, Shaheen Afridi, Iftikhar Ahmed, Asif Ali, Haider Ali, Mohammad Hasnain, Shan Masood, Mohammad Nawaz, Usman Qadir, Haris Rauf, Mohammad Rizwan, Khushdil Shah, Naseem Shah, Mohammad Wasim

New Zealand T20I Tri-Series 2022: Schedule and India match times

All times are in Indian Standard Time (IST).

Day and Date Match Venue Time
Friday, October 7 Pakistan vs Bangladesh Hagley Oval, Christchurch 7:30 AM
Saturday, October 8 Pakistan vs New Zealand 11:30 AM
Sunday, October 9 Bangladesh vs New Zealand 11:30 AM 
Tuesday, October 11 New Zealand vs Pakistan 7:30 AM
Wednesday, October 12 Bangladesh vs New Zealand 7:30 AM
Thursday, October 13 Bangladesh vs Pakistan 7:30 AM
Friday, October 14 Final - New Zealand vs Pakistan 7:30 AM

Where to watch New Zealand T20I Tri-Series 2022 series live in India?

Live streaming of the New Zealand T20I Tri-Series 2022 will be available on Amazon Prime Video.

There will be no live telecast of New Zealand T20I Tri-Series 2022 in India.


Interested in cricket betting? Click here to check out the list of top sites.

Featured photo: Sanka Vidanagama / AFP