Mumbai will lock horns with Tamil Nadu in the Ranji Trophy 2024 semi-final at the Bandra Kurla Complex Ground in Mumbai starting on Saturday, March 2.

The Mumbai vs Tamil Nadu Ranji Trophy 2024 semi-final will start at 9:30 AM IST.

Led by captain Ajinkya Rahane, Mumbai advanced to the Ranji Trophy 2024 semi-final on the basis of a first-innings lead against Baroda in their quarter-final clash.

Electing to bat first, Mumbai rode on Musheer Khan’s unbeaten 203 and Hardik Tamore’s 57 to post 384 in their first innings. Mumbai later bowled out Baroda for 348 as they took a 36-run lead.

Left-arm spinner Shams Mulani was the wrecker-in-chief for Mumbai as he bagged four wickets for 121 runs in his 38 overs.  

Ajinkya Rahane’s men scored 569 in their second innings courtesy of centuries from Hardik Tamore (114), Tanush Kotian (120) and Tushar Deshpande (123).

Chasing a mammoth score of 606, Baroda finished their innings at 121/3 as Mumbai booked their place in another Ranji Trophy semi-final.

On the other hand, Tamil Nadu thrashed defending champions Saurashtra by an innings and 33 runs in the quarter-finals to book their place in the last four.

Captain R Sai Kishore led from the front as he picked up a five-wicket haul to bundle out Saurashtra for 183 in their first innings.

In reply, Baba Indrajith (80), Boopathi Kumar (65) and Sai Kishore (60) slammed fifties to help Tamil Nadu post 338 in their first innings.

Saurashtra were once again skitted out for 122 in their second innings as Tamil Nadu stormed into the Ranji Trophy semi-finals.

Meanwhile, Mumbai are the most successful team in Ranji Trophy history with 41 titles while Tamil Nadu have clinched the coveted title twice in 1954-55 and 1987-88.

Mumbai vs Tami Nadu head-to-head

The Mumbai vs Tamil Nadu head-to-head record favours the former in recent outings. Mumbai have won two of the last five meetings while three matches have ended in draws.

The last time these two sides met, Mumbai and Tamil Nadu played a dull draw in an Elite Group B fixture at the Brabourne Stadium in 2023.

Mumbai vs Tamil Nadu squads

Mumbai squad: Ajinkya Rahane (captain), Prithvi Shaw, Bhupen Lalwani, Musheer Khan, Ajinkya Rahane, Shreyas Iyer, Hardik Tamore (wicketkeeper), Shams Mulani, Tanush Kotian, Shardul Thakur, Tushar Deshpande, Mohit Avasthi, Amogh Bhatkar, Prasad Pawar (wicketkeeper), Aditya Dhumal, Royston Dias, Dhawal Kulkarni

Tamil Nadu squad: Ravisrinivasan Sai Kishore (captain), Pradosh Ranjan Paul (vice-captain), Washington Sundar, Sai Sudharsan, N. Jagadeesan (wicketkeeper), Baba Indrajith, Vijay Shankar, Suresh Lokeshwar (wicketkeeper), S. Ajith Ram, B. Sachin, M. Mohammed, Sandeep Warrier, T. Natarajan, Vimal Khumar, Trilok Nag

Where to watch Mumbai vs Tamil Nadu Ranji Trophy 2024 semi-final live

The Mumbai vs Tamil Nadu Ranji Trophy 2024 semi-final will be telecast live on Sports18 Network’s TV channels.

Live streaming of the MUM vs TN Ranji Trophy 2024 semi-final will be available on the JioCinema app and website.

Photo credit: Alamy