Delhi, who are one of the three Indian T20 League teams to have never lifted the title, couldn't have asked a better start to their new season. Starting off an extremely close encounter against Punjab in the Indian T20 League 2020 opener, where it took a Super Over to decide a winner, the Shreyas Iyer-led side went on to dismantle three-time Indian T20 League winners, Chennai by 44 runs in the second. The team finally dropped points in their third game as Hyderabad got the better of them by 15 runs. Two back to back victories over Kolkata and Bangalore has put them right on the top of the table.

The team has shown a perfect balance of youth and experience so far in the campaign and formed a brilliant core of Indian players, with Shikhar Dhawan and Prithvi Shaw acquiring the top order. The hard-hitting prowess of Rishabh Pant and Marcus Stoinis then gives them an edge in the death overs, while in bowling, they are pretty well stacked up too. 

Kagiso Rabada, one of the finest bowlers in the shortest format, is their potent weapon, while in Ravichandran Ashwin, they have acquired an experienced campaigner who, on his day, is capable of turning the game on its head. The team is stacked with match-winners right from the top to the bottom, and it is safe to say that this could well and truly be their year. Delhi rode on the back of their veterans' performances to qualify for the playoffs, beating Bangalore in their final group stage game.

There have been a couple of specials innings already played in a Delhi shirt, but you might be wondering who is the highest run-scorer for Delhi so far? Well, here’s a list of players with most runs scored for Delhi in the 2020 Indian T20 League:

Player Runs Average Strike Rate
Shikhar Dhawan 618 44.14 144.73
Shreyas Iyer 519 34.60 123.27
Marcus Stoinis 352 25.14 148.52
Rishabh Pant 343 31.18 113.95
Prithvi Shaw 228 17.53 136.52

Feature image courtesy: Twitter / Delhi