Pat Cummins and Sam Curran on Wednesday became the latest bowlers to register the most expensive bowling spells in T20s, but going by the numbers, they are nowhere near to the unwanted record set by Pakistan’s Sarmad Anwar.

In the Chennai vs Kolkata match of Indian T20 League 2021, Cummins leaked 58 runs from his four overs as Chennai posted a first-innings score of 220/3. In a bizarre-yet-similar manner, England pacer Sam Curran also conceded 58 runs in his spell although claiming the prized wicket of Nitish Rana.

Neither Cummins nor Curran feature among the top five for most runs conceded in domestic and international T20s. 

Sarmad Anwar holds the record for the most expensive bowling spell in T20 cricket. Playing for Sialkot Stallions in the Super Eight T-20 Cup in 2011, he was hammered for a whopping 81 runs in his four overs at an economy rate of 20.25. 

To add to his woes, Sarmad bowled four no-balls in his spell against Lahore Lions. He last played a cricket game in December 2014 whilst not having a single international cap to his name.

Most runs conceded by bowlers in domestic T20s
Player Team Opponent Overs Maidens Runs Wickets
Sarmad Anwar Sialkot Stallions Lahore Lions 4 0 81 0
Ben Sanderson Northamptonshire Yorkshire 4 0 77 0
Anthony Martin Leeward Islands Trinidad and Tobago 4 0 70 0
Andrew Mathieson Central Districts Auckland 4 0 70 0
Basil Thampi Hyderabad Bangalore 4 0 70 0

Meanwhile, Sri Lanka’s Kasun Rajitha holds the unwanted distinction for the most expensive bowling spell in T20 internationals. In the first T20I of the 2019 tour of Australia, Rajitha was taken to the cleaners in his second (21 runs) and third overs (25 runs) after conceding 11 in his opening over. He ended with figures of 0/75 in four overs.

This fixture ended up being the last time he represented the Lankan Lions in the T20I format.

Most runs conceded by bowlers in T20Is
Player Team Opponent Overs Maidens Runs Wickets
Kasun Rajitha Sri Lanka Australia 4 0 75 0
Tunahan Turan Turkey Czech Republic 4 0 70 1
Barry J McCarthy Ireland Afghanistan 4 0 69 0
Kyle Abbott South Africa West Indies 4 0 68 1
James Anderson England Australia 4 0 64 1

Featured photo: AFP / MICHAEL SHEEHAN