The upcoming Twenty20 cricket league in America known as Major League Cricket 2023 is slated to begin on Thursday, July 13.

The objective of this exciting new T20 league will be to popularise cricket in America while also providing a platform for up-and-coming aspiring cricketers to showcase their talent and potential.

As many as six teams will be participating in Major League Cricket 2023 and these sides are Texas Super Kings, Los Angeles Knight Riders, MI New York, San Francisco Unicorns, Seattle Orcas, and Washington Freedom.

Each team must have a minimum of 16 and a maximum of 19 players in their respective squad. Every squad must boast one under-23 domestic talent that represents the next generation of American players.

Besides the one under-23 domestic talent, all teams must have at least a further nine domestic American players. A maximum of nine overseas players are allowed in a squad, however, only six of them can be a part of the playing XI. 

All of the sides will square off against each other twice in a double round-robin format and the top four teams in the standings at the end of these games will progress to the playoffs.

The playoffs comprise two semi-finals and the winner of these semis will progress to the final, which will be held on Sunday, July 30.

All of the matches in the inaugural edition of Major League Cricket in 2023 will take place at the Grand Prairie Stadium in Grand Prairie, Texas, near Dallas.

This newly-renovated stadium near Dallas, Texas has the capacity to host 7,200 spectators. A secondary venue where matches can be played is also expected to be announced in due course.

This tournament is set to attract top cricketing talents from across the country and international talents from across the globe.

Some of the players that are a part of this league and who cricket fans will be familiar with are Unmukt Chand, Corey Anderson, Liam Plunkett, Smit Patel, and Juan Theron.

Jaskaran Malhotra, who has hit six sixes in an over, will also be a part of this league. International stars like Anrich Nortje and Wanindu Hasaranga are set to feature in this tournament as well.

Photo credit: Alamy