The Maharaja Trophy KSCA T20 2022 will start on August 7 and conclude on August 26.

Launched by Karnataka State Cricket Association (KSCA), the upcoming T20 cricket tournament is organised in the memory of former President of KSCA and Maharaja of Mysore - HRH late Srikantadatta Narasimharaja Wadiyar.

Featuring six teams, a total of 34 matches will be played across 20 days. The inaugural edition of Maharaja Trophy KSCA T20 will see six teams - Bengaluru, Mysore, Hubli, Shivamogga, Raichur and Mangalore competing for the prize.

The first leg of the tournament will comprise a total of 18 matches to be played at Srikantadatta Narasimharaja Wadiyar Ground in Mysore. The second leg consists of 16 matches including the final to be held at the M. Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru.

The KSCA has launched the marquee T20 tournament to provide young and aspiring cricketers a platform to shine.

KSCA President Roger Binny, Secretary Santosh Menon and Treasurer Vinay Mruthyunjaya unveiled the coveted trophy and logo on Saturday.

Reminiscent of the Bradman Cup, which became the country’s first-ever Twenty20 tournament held in 2005, Binny said, “KSCA had set the ball rolling for an all-new format of the game, way back in 2005, giving India its first taste of a T20 game through the Bradman Cup.

“Subsequently, the Karnataka Premier League was launched in 2009 and we saw eight successful editions of this entertaining league which saw many young stars emerge,” the legendary all-rounder and winner of the ICC Men’s World Cup 1983 added. 

The Maharaja-themed trophy is carefully crafted with an engraved metal pillar adorned by 11 solid wings that suggests the number of players in a cricket team.  

Karnataka’s top cricketers including Devdutt Padikkal, Shreyas Gopal, K Gowtham, Manish Pandey, J Suchith, Karun Nair, Mayank Agarwal, Abhinav Manohar, KC Cariappa, Pravin Dubey and Abhimanyu Mithun are expected to feature in the Maharaja Trophy KSCA T20.   

“All the top cricketers within the age bracket of 35 years will be eligible to take part in the tournament. The teams will be formed through a player draft, and KSCA will nominate the captains and vice captains for the teams and we will assign support staff for each of the six teams,” stated Santosh Menon, Hon. Secretary of KSCA.

 The two-week T20 extravaganza will provide emerging stars from the state an opportunity to perform in front of packed-stadiums, under floodlights and bask in the limelight with all matches being telecast live on television.

“Through the process of inviting expression of interest from corporates for team sponsorship and naming rights, Cycle Argarbattis, Kalyani Motors, Jindal Steels, Fiza Developers and infrastructure Pvt Ltd, Gulbarga Megaspeed and Micon Engineers (Hubli) have been named as team sponsors for Mysore, Bengaluru, Hubli, Mangalore and Raichur respectively. We are in the process of finalising a team sponsor for Shimoga,” stated Vinay Mruthyunjaya.  

Where to watch Maharaja Trophy KSCA T20 2022 live in India

The Maharaja Trophy KSCA T20 2022 will be telecast live on Star Sports 2 and Star Sports Kannada TV channels in India. 

Live streaming of Maharaja Trophy KSCA T20 2022 will be available on FanCode app and website.

Play fantasy cricket with SportsAdda. Create your team, track your progress and win prizes. Start here.

Follow us on Telegram for the latest updates from the world of sports!

Interested in cricket betting? Click here to check out the list of top sites.

Featured photo: Karnataka State Cricket Association