The inaugural season of the Legends Cricket League (LLC) will start on January 20 and all matches will be played at the Al Amerat Cricket Stadium in Muscat, Oman.

The tournament, which saw former Indian cricket team head coach Ravi Shastri take up the role as commissioner in November 2021, will culminate with the final set for January 29.

Retired players from India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Australia, England, etc will participate and will be divided into three teams, namely, India, Asia, and Rest of the World. While Virender Sehwag, Yuvraj Singh and Harbhajan Singh headline the India Maharajas squad, cricket fans can eagerly see the likes of Shahid Afridi and Muttiah Muralitharan back in action as part of the Asia Lions team.

However, the World Giants team will be the one to watch out for. The team will comprise a star-studded roster that includes Daren Sammy, Daniel Vettori, Brett Lee, Kevin Pietersen and Imran Tahir and is tipped by commissioner Shastri as the "team to beat in the championship".

The first edition of LLC will feature two rounds and a final. Each round will consist of three games, with three rest days slotted within the schedule. The third and final rest day will be before the final on January 29. All matches will be played at 8 PM IST.

Legends Cricket League 2022 Schedule

January 20: Group League Round 1 - India Maharajas vs Asia Lions

January 21: Group League Round 1 - World Giants vs Asia Lions

January 22: Group League Round 1 - World Giants vs India Maharajas

January 24: Group League Round 2 - Asia Lions vs India Maharajas

January 26: Group League Round 2 - India Maharajas vs World Giants

January 27: Group League Round 2 - Asia Lions vs World Giant

January 29: Final

Legends Cricket League 2022 squads

India Maharajas: Virender Sehwag, Yuvraj Singh, Harbhajan Singh, Irfan Pathan, Yusuf Pathan, Badrinath, RP Singh, Pragyan Ojha, Naman Ojha, Manpreet Gony, Hemang Badani, Venugopal Rao, Munaf Patel, Sanjay Bangar, Nayan Mongia and Amit Bhandari

Asia Lions squad: Shoaib Akhtar, Shahid Afridi, Sanath Jayasuriya, Muttiah Muralitharan, Chaminda Vaas, Romesh Kaluwitharana, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Azhar Mahmood, Upul Tharanga, Misbah-ul-Haq, Mohammed Hafeez, Shoaib Malik, Mohammed Yousuf, Umar Gul, Younis Khan and Asghar Afghan.

World Giants: Daren Sammy, Daniel Vettori, Brett Lee, Jonty Rhodes, Kevin Pietersen, Imran Tahir, Owais Shah, Herschelle Gibbs, Albie Morkel, Morne Morkel, Corey Anderson, Monty Panesar, Brad Haddin, Kevin O’Brien, and Brendan Taylor

Where to watch Legends Cricket League 2022 live in India?

Legends Cricket League 2022 will be telecast live on the SONY TEN 1 and SONY TEN 3 TV channels in India from Thursday, January 20.

Live streaming of Legends Cricket League 2022 will be available on the SonyLIV app and website in India.

Follow us on Telegram for the latest updates from the world of sports!

Interested in cricket betting? Click here to check out the list of top sites.

Featured photo: AFP / Haitham AL-SHUKAIRI