The Lanka Premier League (LPL) 2021 will start from July 30 and end on August 22. The second edition of the  T20 tournament will be held in a bio-secure environment, as confirmed by Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC).

"SLC wishes to reiterate that the second edition of the Lanka Premier League will be held during July and August 2021, as earlier announced. Accordingly, the tournament will be held from 30th July to 22nd August 2021," Sri Lanka Cricket said in a statement.

"The 2020 edition was held under a successful bio-bubble environment. Health protocols for the second edition of LPL will be planned based on the directions of the Ministry of Health."

The first edition of LPL featured five teams and the matches were played at the Mahinda Rajapaksa Stadium in Hambantota.

The tournament director of LPL, Ravin Wickramaratne, had earlier mentioned that the 2021 edition will have six teams.

“We’re introducing a new team from Trinco (Trincomalee) which is in the Eastern part of the country,” Wickramaratne said.

LPL 2021 will be played right after India conclude their white-ball tour to the island nation on July 25.

Jaffna Stallions were the champions of the inaugural edition defeating Galle Gladiators by 53 runs in the final. The other teams that were a part of the tournament were Kandy Tuskers, Colombo Kings and Dambulla Viking. The tournament was played in round-robin and knockout format and will be the same this year too. 

Former India internationals like Irfan Pathan, Munaf Patel and Sudeep Tyagi have been a part of the first edition of LPL. Other Indian players like Manpreet Gony and Manvinder Bisla have also plied their trades in the T20 tournament.

Major international stars Andre Russell, Shahid Afridi, Dale Steyn, Brendan Taylor and Samit Patel were also a part of the last season.

Featured photo : Munir Uz Zaman / AFP