Kolkata defeated Delhi by three wickets in match 41 of Indian T20 League 2021 at the Sharjah Cricket Stadium on Tuesday, September 28.

Electing to field first, two-time champions Kolkata restricted Delhi to a paltry score of 127/9 on a sluggish pitch courtesy of some outstanding bowling from Lockie Ferguson, Sunil Narine and Venkatesh Iyer who bagged two wickets each. For Delhi, Steve Smith and captain Rishabh Pant scored 39 each.

In reply, Kolkata rode on Shubman Gill (30) and Nitish Rana (36) to chase down the modest total in 18.2 overs.

Here's what happened during the match:

Kolkata win by three wickets

Nitish Rana hits the winning runs as Kolkata bag two important points to stay in the fourth position. They now have 10 points in 11 matches and play Punjab in their next encounter.

Kolkata 130/7 (18.2)

Delhi 127/9 (20)

BOWLED!!! Avesh Khan cleans up Tim Southee

With just two runs needed, Kolkata lose their seventh wicket as Tim Southee departs. Kolkata 126/7 in 18 overs.

OUT!!! Nortje removes Narine

Anrich Nortje claims his first wicket of the match as he dismisses Sunil Narine, who departs for a 10-ball 21. Kolkata 122/6 in 16.5 overs.

0 N1 2 6 4 6 1

Another expensive over, this time from Kagiso Rabada as he gives away 21 runs. Kolkata inch closer to victory, need 9 runs in 24 balls.

OUT!!! Karthik departs

Massive, massive wicket for Delhi as Avesh Khan removes Dinesh Karthik for 12. Kolkata 96/5 in 14.4 overs.

20 runs off Lalit Yadav's third over

Nitish Rana and Dinesh Karthik pounce on Lalit Yadav's off-spin as they score 20 runs off his third over. Kolkata 96/4 in 14 overs.

FOUR!!!Much-needed boundary

Kolkata have been under immense pressure in the last few overs. Dinesh Karthik manages to release some pressure with a boundary off Kagiso Rabada. Kolkata 74/4 in 13 overs.

OUT!!! Ashwin strikes

Another wicket falls for Kolkata. Captain Eoin Morgan departs as Ravichandran Ashwin bags his first wicket of the match. Kolkata 67/4 in 11.2 overs.

Load More