After a riveting and hard-fought three-match ODI series, the South Africa cricket team will lock horns with hosts Ireland in a three-match T20I series starting on Monday, July 19.

While the opening ODI was abandoned due to rain, the visitors suffered a humiliating 43-run defeat against Ireland, courtesy of a scintillating hundred by Ireland captain Andrew Balbirnie, to trail the series 1-0.

However, in the must-win third and final ODI, Temba Bavuma’s men brought their ‘A’ game to put on an all-round show and thrash the Ireland cricket team by 70 runs. The ODI series ended level at 1-1.

South Africa coach Mark Boucher has blamed his team’s prolonged stay in the bio-bubble and the unrest back home for his side’s underwhelming performance in the ODI series.

“I have to look at the reasons why we were flat. It could be that coming off a good win against the West Indian team -- usually you get a bit of time to take that in and get away for a while -- maybe a week or two and we didn't have that opportunity. As soon as we got that win, guys were packing and we got onto a plane and we flew for two days and got back into another bubble," Boucher was quoted as saying to ESPNcricinfo.

The South African players on Friday were spotted wearing black armbands in the third ODI to show solidarity with those affected by the violence in Gauteng and Kwa-Zuly Natal provinces back home. As many as 200 people lost their lives in the violence that rocked South Africa.

“To say it's not affecting us is not true. It is affecting us and every South African," Boucher added.

"Today we came out and showed that when we put our minds to it and we play with good energy, we were there but when the game was sort of won, we took our foot of the gas again, which was a bit disappointing. We didn't end the game as we wanted to."

The first T20I between Ireland and South Africa is scheduled to be played at the Village cricket ground in Dublin, while the other two matches of the series will take place at the Civil Service Cricket Club in Belfast.

Ireland vs South Africa T20I squads

Ireland T20I squad: Andrew Balbirnie (captain), Mark Adair, George Dockrell, Shane Getkate, Josh Little, Barry McCarthy, William McClintock, Kevin O'Brien, Neil Rock, Simi Singh, Paul Stirling, Harry Tector, Lorcan Tucker (wicket-keeper), Ben White, Craig Young

South Africa T20I squad: Temba Bavuma (captain), Andile Phehlukwayo, Dwaine Pretorius, Kagiso Rabada, Quinton de Kock (wicket-keeper), Bjorn Fortuin, Reeza Hendricks, Heinrich Klaasen, George Linde, Keshav Maharaj, Janneman Malan, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje, Tabraiz Shamsi, Rassie van der Dussen, Kyle Verreynne, Lizaad Williams

Ireland vs South Africa T20I schedule, fixtures and live India match times

All times in India Standard Time (IST)

Day and Date


Time (IST)


Monday, July 19

Ireland vs South Africa, 1st T20I

8:30 PM IST

The Village, Dublin

Thursday, July 22

Ireland vs South Africa, 2nd T20I

8:30 PM IST

Civil Service Cricket Club, Belfast

Saturday, July 24

Ireland vs South Africa, 3rd T20I

8:30 PM IST

Civil Service Cricket Club, Belfast

Where to watch Ireland vs South Africa T20I series live in India?  

Live streaming of the Ireland vs South Africa T20I series will be available on FanCode app and website.

There will be no telecast of the IRE vs SA T20I series on any TV channels in India.

SportsAdda will bring you Ireland vs South Africa T20I live scores.

Play fantasy cricket with SportsAdda. Create your team, track your progress and win prizes. Start here.

Featured photo: Twitter/CricketIreland