The Zimbabwe cricket team is all set to host the Ireland cricket team in two limited-overs bilateral series beginning from January 12, 2023.

The series comprises three T20Is followed by just as many ODIs, with all the matches scheduled to be played at the Harare Sports Club. 

The ODI series won’t be a part of the Cricket World Cup Super League. This will be the two teams’ first assignment after the T20 World Cup 2022.

The two nations were slotted in the same group in the qualifying round. Both sides managed to make it through Round 1 after winning two and losing one match. 

Moreover, Ireland recorded a famous nine-wicket victory over West Indies to progress to the Super 12s, eliminating the two-time champions in the process.

However, the two teams couldn’t progress beyond the Super 12s, despite Zimbabwe and Ireland managing to register memorable wins over eventual finalists Pakistan and England respectively.

Meanwhile, Zimbabwe toured Australia for a three-match ODI series before the World Cup. Although they lost the series, the Chevrons clinched a stunning five-wicket win in the final ODI to record their first-ever victory against the Aussies on Australian soil in any format

On the other hand, Ireland played a five-match T20I series against Afghanistan at home prior to the T20 World Cup in August 2022, which they won by 3-2. 

Zimbabwe vs Ireland 2023 T20Is squads

Zimbabwe: Craig Ervine (captain), Gary Ballance, Ryan Burl, Tendai Chatara, Bradley Evans, Luke Jongwe, Innocent Kaia, Clive Madande, Wessly Madhevere, Tadiwanashe Marumani, Wellington Masakadza, Tony Munyonga, Richard Ngarava, Victor Nyauchi, Sean Williams

Ireland: Andy Balbirnie (captain), Mark Adair, Curtis Campher, Gareth Delany, George Dockrell, Stephen Doheny, Fionn Hand, Graham Hume, Tyrone Kane, Barry McCarthy, Neil Rock, Harry Tector, Lorcan Tucker, Ben White

Zimbabwe vs Ireland 2023 ODIs squads

Zimbabwe: Yet to be announced

Ireland: Andy Balbirnie (captain), Mark Adair, Curtis Campher, Gareth Delany, George Dockrell, Stephen Doheny, Graham Hume, Tyrone Kane, Josh Little, Andy McBrine, Barry McCarthy, Paul Stirling, Harry Tector, Lorcan Tucker

Ireland tour of Zimbabwe 2023: Schedule and live match times

All times are in Indian Standard Time (IST).

Day and date Match Venue Time
Thursday, January 12 1st T20I Harare Sports Club 4.30 PM
Saturday, January 14 2nd T20I 4.30 PM
Sunday, January 15 3rd T20I 4.30 PM
Wednesday, January 18 1st ODI 12.45 PM
Saturday, January 21 2nd ODI 12.45 PM
Monday, January 23 3rd ODI 12.45 PM

Where to watch Ireland tour of Zimbabwe 2023 live in India?

Live streaming of the Ireland tour of Zimbabwe 2023 will be available on the FanCode app and website.

There will be no live telecast of the Ireland tour of Zimbabwe 2023 on any TV channel in India.


Interested in cricket betting? Click here to check out the list of top sites.

Photo credit: Alamy