The 2020 Ranji Trophy winners Saurashtra take on Rest of India in the Irani Cup 2022 on Saturday, October 1, at 9:30 AM IST. The match is scheduled to take place at Saurashtra Cricket Association Stadium, Rajkot.

Irani Cup is a five-day First-Class match that is played annually between the reigning Ranji Trophy champions and Rest of India, which consists of players from the state Ranji teams, selected by the BCCI.

Irani Cup returns after a hiatus of more than two years due to COVID-19. The 2020 winners Saurashtra were slated to play that year’s edition of the Irani Cup before the clash was indefinitely postponed due to the onset of the pandemic.

From October 1, Saurashtra, led by Jaydev Unadkat, will be up against Hanuma Vihari’s Rest of India.

In March 2020, just before the lockdown, Saurashtra beat Bengal to bag their maiden Ranji Trophy title. 

Saurashtra’s Arpit Vasavada’s ton and veteran Cheteshwar Pujara’s half-century propelled them to 425 in the first innings. In reply, Wriddhiman Saha’s 64 helped Bengal reach 381 to hand their opponents a 44-run lead. 

The match ended in a draw after Saurashtra scored 105/4 in the second innings. Saurashtra were crowned champions based on first innings lead. 

In the last edition, which was held in February 2019, Vidarbha defeated Rest of India to win back-to-back Irani Cup titles.

However, Ranji trophy 2022 winners Madhya Pradesh will play their Irani Cup match in March 2023.

Where to watch the Irani Cup 2022 live in India?

The live telecast of the Saurashtra vs Rest of India Irani Cup 2022 match will be available on the Star Sports Select 2 and Star Sports Select 2 HD TV Channels.

Live streaming of the Irani Cup 2022 will be available on the Disney+ Hotstar app and website.

Saurashtra vs Rest of India Irani Cup 2022 squads

Saurashtra: Jaydev Unadkat (Captain), Cheteshwar Pujara, Sheldon Jackson, Arpit Vasavada, Chirag Jani, Kamlesh Makwana, Dharmendrasinh Jadeja, Prerak Mankad, Chetan Sakariya, Snell Patel, Vishvarajsinh Jadeja, Kushang Patel, Harvik Desai, Samarth Vyas, Parth Bhut, Kishan Parmar

Rest of India: Hanuma Vihari (Captain), Mayank Agarwal, Priyank Panchal, Abhimanyu Easwaran, Yash Dhull, Sarfaraz Khan, Yashasvi Jaiswal, K.S. Bharat, Upendra Yadav, Jayant Yadav, Saurabh Kumar, R Sai Kishore, Mukesh Kumar, Umran Malik, Kuldeep Sen, Arzan Nagwaswalla


Interested in cricket betting? Click here to check out the list of top sites

Featured photo: Geoff Caddick / AFP