The Indian T20 League gears up for its 2020 season with its first piece of action on December 19, when the auction for next year takes place. The auction will take place in Kolkata for the first time this year.

A total of 971 players had registered initially for 73 available slots in the eight teams. However, that number has been trimmed down to 332 and the final list went out to the teams a couple of days back.

Of the 73 players that can be bought at the auctions, 29 can be overseas players and bringing some experience to the field are 19 capped Indian players. There are several quality options available and teams will be looking to spend their limited auction purse wisely.

Read | Mitchell Starc, Joe Root pull out of Indian T20 League auctions

The auctions are not the mega-auctions where teams will majorly shuffle around their squads. That is set to be held for the 2021 season, i.e next year.

The Indian T20 League auctions is slated to begin at 3.30 pm on December 19 and the broadcasting rights are currently held by Star Sports. The channel will be airing it across all its channels- including English and regional ones and will also be live-streaming it on its digital platform, Hotstar.

Here are all the relevant details you need to catch it live:

When: Coverage begins at 2.30pm IST, when the pre-auction show will start to air

Where: Star Sports 1/1 HD, Star Sports 1 Hindi, Star Sports 1 Tamil, Star Sports 1 Telugu, Star Sports 1 Kannada, Star Sports 1 Bangla, Star Sports First

In addition to this, a special show called “Select Dugout Auction Special” will start airing at 3.20pm IST on Star Sports Select 1/Select 1 HD

Live-stream: Hotstar

Read | Glenn Maxwell makes return to cricket after mental health break

Feature image courtesy: AFP / Dibyangshu Sarkar