Ahead of the second leg of Indian T20 League 2021, several top cricketers have opted out of the remainder of the high-profile tournament due to either injury or bio-bubble fatigue. These developments have forced the Indian T20 League franchises to look for replacement players before the tournament resumes in UAE on September 19

As many as 15 replacement players have been officially announced by the franchises. They will have an opportunity to showcase their talent ahead of the T20 World Cup scheduled to be held in Oman and UAE.

Virat Kohli-led Bangalore have witnessed the maximum pullouts among the franchises. Adam Zampa, Daniel Sams, Kane Richardson and Finn Allen have opted out of the remainder of the tournament and have been replaced by Wanindu Hasaranga, Dushmantha Chameera, George Garton and Tim David.

Bangalore will also miss the services of their injured Indian all-rounder Washington Sundar. Akash Deep has been named as Sundar’s replacement.

Inaugural champions Rajasthan suffered a massive blow as their star players Ben Stokes, Jofra Archer and Jos Buttler won’t feature in the second leg of the tournament. While New Zealand wicket-keeper batsman Glenn Phillips will replace Archer, South Africa chinaman bowler Tabraiz Shamsi and Oshane Thomas have been named replacement players for Tye and Stokes. 

Meanwhile, Punjab have officially signed Australian pacer Nathan Ellis in place of his compatriot Riley Meredith while England leg-spinner Adil Rashid has been named Jhye Richardson’s replacement. The Punjab franchise has also been forced to add South Africa opener Aiden Markram in their squad after England’s David Malan decided to withdraw from the tournament.

Two-time champions Kolkata have named New Zealand pacer Tim Southee as a replacement player for their star fast bowler Pat Cummins, while Delhi have roped in Australia’s Ben Dwarshuis in place of England pacer Chris Woakes.

Full list of replacement players for Indian T20 League 2021 in UAE


Injured / Replaced Player

Replacement Player


Chris Woakes

Ben Dwarshuis


Adam Zampa

Wanindu Hasaranga


Daniel Sams

Dushmantha Chameera


Kane Richardson

George Garton


Finn Allen

Tim David


Washington Sundar

Akash Deep


Jofra Archer

Glenn Phillips


Andrew Tye

Tabraiz Shamsi


Ben Stokes

Oshane Thomas


Jos Buttler

Evin Lewis


Riley Meredith

Nathan Ellis


Jhye Richardson 

Adil Rashid


David Malan 

Aiden Markram


Jonny Bairstow

Sherfane Rutherford


Pat Cummins

Tim Southee

Featured photo: ISHARA S. KODIKARA / AFP