Who has taken the most wickets in Indian T20 League 2020? Check the Purple Cap list today! Get the latest updated top bowlers from the tournament daily.

Article Detail

Check out the top bowlers in the Indian T20 League this season and find out who’s leading in the most wickets taken chart in this year's Purple Cap leaderboard.

The Purple Cap is awarded to the bowler with most dismissals at the end of the tournament. The award is passed on from one bowler to another depending on who has taken most wickets at the time before the final winner is decided at the end of the tournament.

Pakistan pacer Sohail Tanvir won the Purple Cap in the inaugural edition of the tournament in 2008 after taking 22 wickets and playing a crucial role in Rajasthan's only victorious campaign to date.

The following two editions saw RP Singh and Pragyan Ojha win the Purple Cap with the now-defunct Deccan team in 2009 and 2010 respectively.

The leading wicket-taker in the tournament's history with 170 scalps, Lasith Malinga won the Purple Cap in the following edition in 2011 and Morne Morkel was the bowler with most wickets in the subsequent edition.

The only two bowlers who have won the Purple Cap on more than one occasion are Chennai’s Dwayne Bravo, who had the most wickets in 2013 as well as 2015 and Hyderabad’s Bhuvneshwar Kumar, who had dismissed more batsmen than any other bowler in 2016 and 2017.

Chennai, in fact, took home the Purple Cap for three successive seasons from 2013 to 2015. As mentioned above, Bravo accounted for two of those, while Mohit Sharma was their main man with the ball in 2014.

The last two editions witnessed Punjab’s Andrew Tye bag the award in 2018 and Chennai’s Imran Tahir went home with the prize in 2019.

Indian T20 League 2020 Purple Cap holder

The ongoing 2020 Indian T20 League season currently sees Delhi’s Kagiso Rabada top the wicket-taking chart ahead of Punjab's Mohammad Shami. Here is how the table looks like:


1Kagiso RabadaDelhi23
2Mohammad Shami Punjab20
3 Rashid KhanHyderabad17
4Jofra ArcherRajasthan17
5Jasprit BumrahMumbai17

Feature image courtesy: Twitter.com / Delhi