The Indian cricket team will start their ICC World Cup 2023 campaign against five-time winners Australia at the M.A. Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai on Sunday, October 8.

The ICC World Cup 2023 will be the first men’s Cricket World Cup to be hosted solely by India. It earlier co-hosted the 1987, 1996 and 2011 tournaments with other nations from the Indian subcontinent.

Under captain Rohit Sharma, India will aim to replicate their 2011 Cricket World Cup triumph and end their 10-year-long ICC title drought on home soil this year.

Hosts India is scheduled to play its ICC World Cup 2023 league matches in nine different cities. 

After facing Australia in their ICC World Cup 2023 opener in Chennai, the Indian cricket team will take on Afghanistan at the Arun Jaitley Stadium in Delhi on October 11.

The highly-anticipated India vs Pakistan ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 match will be played at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad on October 15.

Three days later, the Men in Blue will face Bangladesh at the Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium in Pune.

India will then travel to Dharamsala to lock horns with New Zealand on October 22.

After a rest period of six days, Rohit Sharma’s men will square off against defending champions England at the Bharat Ratna Shri Atal Bihari Vajpayee Ekana Cricket Stadium in Lucknow on October 29.

They will later face the Qualifier 2 team at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai on November 2, before locking horns with South Africa at the iconic Eden Gardens in Kolkata on November 5.

India will play their final league match against the Qualifier 1 team at the M.Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru on November 11.

Apart from India, Afghanistan, Australia, Bangladesh, England, New Zealand, Pakistan and South Africa have already qualified for the ICC World Cup 2023 through the Cricket World Cup Super League. 

As per the schedule, each team will play the other nine sides in a round-robin format. The top four teams in the standings after all the league matches will advance to the semi-finals.

The first ICC World Cup 2023 semi-final will be held at the Wankhede Stadium on November 15, while the second semi-final is scheduled to be played at the Eden Gardens on November 16. Both semi-finals will have a reserve day.

The ICC World Cup 2023 final will be played at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad on November 19 with November 20 slated as the reserve day.

India have previously won the ICC World Cup twice in 1983 and 2011.

Indian cricket team’s ICC World Cup 2023 schedule and match times

All times are in Indian Standard Time (IST)

Day and Date




Sunday, October 8 

India vs Australia

M. A. Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai

2:00 PM

Wednesday, October 11

India vs Afghanistan

Arun Jaitley Stadium, Delhi

2:00 PM

Sunday, October 15 

India vs Pakistan

Narendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad

2:00 PM

Thursday, October 19

India vs Bangladesh

Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium, Pune

2:00 PM

Sunday, October 22

India vs New Zealand

Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association Stadium, Dharamsala

2:00 PM

Sunday, October 29

India vs England

Bharat Ratna Shri Atal Bihari Vajpayee Ekana Cricket Stadium, Lucknow 

2:00 PM

Thursday, November 2

India vs Qualifier 2

Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai

2:00 PM

Sunday, November 5

India vs South Africa

Eden Gardens, Kolkata

2:00 PM

Saturday, November 11

India vs Qualifier 1

M. Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru 

2:00 PM

Photo credit: Alamy