The Indian cricket team will start their ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2022 campaign against arch-rivals Pakistan at the iconic Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) on Sunday, October 23.

After suffering a humiliating 10-wicket loss against Pakistan in the ICC Men's T20 World Cup in Dubai last year, the Men in Blue will eye revenge at MCG.

India were among the top eight teams to secure automatic qualification for the Super 12 phase on the basis of their performances in the 2021 tournament and their rankings as of November 15.

Rohit Sharma, who replaced Virat Kohli as India’s new T20 captain, will lead the Men in Blue for the first time in a World Cup match. 

Placed in Group 2, Team India will play the second-placed team of Group A at Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG) on October 27, followed by a clash against South Africa in Perth on October 30.

The remaining two Super 12 matches of the inaugural World T20 champions will be against Bangladesh at Adelaide Oval on November 2 and versus the winner of Group B from Round 1 on November 6. 

Indian cricket team’s ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2022 schedule, fixtures and India match times

All times are in Indian Standard Time (IST)

Day and Date




Sunday, October 23

India vs Pakistan

Melbourne Cricket Ground

1:30 PM IST

Thursday, October 27

India vs A2

Sydney Cricket Ground

12:30 PM IST

Sunday, October 30

India vs South Africa

Perth Stadium

4:30 PM IST

Wednesday, November 2

India vs Bangladesh

Adelaide Oval

1:30 PM IST

Sunday, November 6

India vs B1

Melbourne Cricket Ground

12:30 PM IST

The top two teams from the Super 12 groups will qualify for the semi-finals of the  ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2022. Semi-final 1 is scheduled to take place at SCG on November 9 while the second semi-final will take place on November 10 in Adelaide. 

The ICC Men's T20 World Cup 202 final is slated to take place at the Melbourne Cricket Ground on November 13.

Featured photo: Aamir QURESHI / AFP