The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has announced a 21-member India Women squad for the seven-match tour to England that starts on June 16.

Mithali Raj will lead the Test and ODI sides, while Harmanpreet Kaur will be leading the T20I side. In addition, spinner Ekta Bisht, all-rounder Shikha Pandey and wicket-keeper Taniya Bhatia, who were overlooked earlier from the limited-overs home series against South Africa, are now a part of the team for the full-fledged tour. 

Hard-hitting T20I opener Shafali Verma has earned her maiden call-up to the ODI and Test squads. Likewise, Jharkhand wicket-keeper Indrani Roy received her maiden international call-up, while Sneh Rana, who last played for India in 2016, makes a comeback. 

Indrani Roy has been the leading run-scorer in the Senior One Day Trophy 2020-21, scoring 456 runs that justifies her selection to the senior side. Railways all-rounder Sneh Rana, meanwhile, has been in fine form with 18 wickets and 160 runs in the season.

Meanwhile, left-arm spinner Rajeshwari Gayakwad has missed out since she is recovering from COVID-19. 

Simran Bahadur, 21, keeps her place in the T20I squad after her recent debut in the South Africa series.

The one-off Test will be India’s first in nearly seven years. Mithali Raj, Harmanpreet Kaur, Jhulan Goswami, Punam Raut, Smriti Mandhana, Shikha Pandey, Poonam Yadav and Ekta Bisht are the only ones from the squad who have featured in a Test before, dating back to 2014 when South Africa toured India.

The players who missed the cut for the tour of South Africa are Sushma Verma, Sweta Verma and Nuzhat Parween, all wicket-keepers. Monica Patel, C Prathyusha, Mansi Joshi, Yastika Bhatia, and D Hemalatha are other players who have missed the flight to England.

The Indian women's cricket team’s tour of England starts on June 16, with a one-off Test in Bristol followed by three ODIs and three T20Is that conclude on July 15.

England vs India Test, ODI and T20I squads

India Women’s squad for Test and ODIs: Mithali Raj (captain), Smriti Mandhana, Harmanpreet Kaur (vice-capt), Punam Raut, Priya Punia, Deepti Sharma, Jemimah Rodrigues, Shafali Verma, Sneh Rana, Taniya Bhatia (wicket-keeper), Indrani Roy (wicket-keeper), Jhulan Goswami, Shikha Pandey, Pooja Vastrakar, Arundhati Reddy, Poonam Yadav, Ekta Bisht, Radha Yadav

India Women’s squad for T20I: Harmanpreet Kaur (captain), Smriti Mandhana (vice-capt), Deepti Sharma, Jemimah Rodrigues, Shafali Verma, Richa Ghosh, Harleen Deol, Sneh Rana, Taniya Bhatia (wicket-keeper), Indrani Roy (wicket-keeper), Shikha Pandey, Pooja Vastrakar, Arundhati Reddy, Poonam Yadav, Ekta Bisht, Radha Yadav, Simran Bahadur

India Women vs England Women, tour schedule, fixtures and India match times

All times are in India Standard Time (IST)





Time (IST)

June 16 - June 19

England vs India one-off Test

County Ground, Bristol

3:30 PM IST

June 27

England vs India 1st ODI

County Ground, Bristol

3:00 PM IST

June 30

England vs India 2nd ODI

The Cooper Associates County Ground, Taunton

6:30 PM IST

July 3

England vs India 3rd ODI

New Road, Worcester

3:00 PM IST

July 9

England vs India 1st T20I

County Ground, Northampton

11:00 PM IST

July 11

England vs India 2nd T20I

County Ground, Hovel

7:00 PM IST

July 15

England vs India 3rd T20I

County Ground, Chelmsford

11:00 PM IST

Featured photo : Twitter/BCCI Women