The India women's cricket team will host Australia Women in a one-off Test to be played at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai starting on Thursday, December 21.

Led by captain Harmanpreet Kaur, India Women will head into the Test brimming with confidence after thrashing England Women by 347 runs at the Dr DY Patil Sports Academy in Navi Mumbai last week.

Star all-rounder Deepti Sharma was adjudged the Player of the Match after finishing with match-winning figures of 9/39. She also slammed an impressive fifty (67) in the first innings of the Test.

Apart from Deepti, Satheesh Shubha (69), Jemimah Rodrigues (68) and Yastika Bhatia (66) hit fifties for India in the first innings, while captain Harmanpreet Kaur scored an unbeaten 44 in the second innings.

In the bowling department, Renuka Singh, Pooja Vastrakar, Sneh Rana and Rajeshwari Gayakwad bagged crucial wickets to power India to a dominating victory.

Ahead of the four-day Test, the hosts suffered a massive blow as Shubha Satheesh fractured and dislocated her left ring finger during the one-off Test against England. Shubha Satheesh is now racing against time to be fit for the Australia Test. 

On the other hand, the Australia women's cricket team has announced their 15-member Test squad to be led by newly-appointed captain Alyssa Healy.

Alyssa Healy has been named captain across all three formats to replace Meg Lanning, who has retired from international cricket. 

The likes of Beth Mooney, Tahlia McGrath, Phoebe Litchfield, Ashleigh Gardner, Ellyse Perry, Alana King, Megan Schutt, Jess Jonassen and Annabel Sutherland are also included in the star-studded Australian Test squad.

Meanwhile, Alyssa Healy’s Australia beat Mumbai women’s XI by 152 runs in a 50-over-a-side warm-up match ahead of the Test.

Fifties from captain Alyssa Healy and Beth Mooney powered Australia to 261/4 before Lauren Cheatle’s four-wicket haul helped the visitors bowl out Mumbai for 109 in 46 overs.

India Women vs Australia Women head-to-head in Tests

Australia Women hold a superior head-to-head record against India Women in Test cricket, winning four of the 10 matches that they have played so far. While India Women are yet to register a Test victory over the Aussies, as many as six Tests have ended in draws.

The last time these two sides met in Tests, the match ended in a draw in Carrara in 2021.

Where to watch India Women vs Australia Women Test 2023 live in India? 

The India Women vs Australia Women Test 2023 will be telecast live on Sports18 1 and Sports18 1 HD TV channels in India.

Live streaming of the India Women vs Australia Women Test 2023 will be available on the JioCinema app and website.

India Women vs Australia Women Test 2023 schedule and live match start times

All times in India Standard Time (IST)

Day and Date



Time (IST)

Thursday, December 21 - Sunday, December 24

India Women vs Australia Women, Only Test

Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai

9:30 AM IST

India Women vs Australia Women Test 2023 squads

India Women Test squad: Harmanpreet Kaur (captain), Smriti Mandhana (vice-captain), Jemimah Rodrigues, Shafali Verma, Deepti Sharma, Yastika Bhatia (wicket-keeper), Richa Ghosh (wicket-keeper), Sneh Rana, Shubha Satheesh, Harleen Deol, Saika Ishaque, Renuka Thakur, Titas Sadhu, Meghna Singh, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Pooja Vastrakar

Australia Women Test squad: Alyssa Healy (captain/wicket-keeper), Tahlia McGrath (vice-captain), Darcie Brown, Lauren Cheatle, Heather Graham, Ashleigh Gardner, Kim Garth, Jess Jonassen, Alana King, Phoebe Litchfield, Beth Mooney (wicket-keeper), Ellyse Perry, Megan Schutt, Annabel Sutherland, Georgia Wareham

Photo credit: Alamy