The Indian women’s cricket team will lock horns with Sri Lanka in their opening match of the Women’s Asia Cup 2022 at the Sylhet District Stadium in Bangladesh on Saturday, October 1. The match will start at 1:00 PM Indian Standard Time (IST).

Under the leadership of Harmanpreet Kaur, India head into the Women’s Asia Cup T20 brimming with confidence after securing a 3-0 ODI series whitewash over hosts England in their previous assignment. The Women in Blue, however, lost the T20I series 1-2 against Amy Jones’ England.

India Women have been in decent form in the T20I format, clinching silver at the inaugural Women’s T20 event at the Commonwealth Games 2022 in Birmingham. Harmanpreet Kaur’s side succumbed to a nine-run defeat to Australia Women in the final at Edgbaston in August.

Since the inception of the Women’s Asia Cup in 2004, India Women have been the most successful team in the tournament’s history, winning the title a record six times in 2004, 2005-06, 2006, 2008, 2012 and 2016.

However, Bangladesh ended India’s incredible title-winning run in the Women’s Asia Cup as they secured a three-wicket victory in the 2018 final and became just the second team to win the coveted trophy.

On the other hand, Sri Lanka Women will look to bounce back after being knocked out in the group stage of Women’s T20 event at CWG 2022.

Sri Lanka Women lost all their three group matches against England, New Zealand and South Africa.

Led by Chamari Athapaththu, Sri Lanka Women will aim to end their Women’s Asia Cup title drought this year, having reached the finals on four occasions previously, in 2004, 2005-06, 2006 and 2008. Interestingly, Sri Lanka Women have lost all their Women’s Asia Cup finals to India.

India Women vs Sri Lanka Women T20I head-to-head 

India Women have a dominant head-to-head record against Sri Lanka Women in T20I cricket, winning 16 of the 22 matches that they have played so far. Sri Lanka Women have secured just four victories. Meanwhile, one match was abandoned in 2012 while another ended in no result in 2018.

Furthermore, India Women have won four of their last five matches against Sri Lanka Women in T20I format. 

The last time these two sides met, Sri Lanka Women defeated India Women by seven wickets in a dead-rubber at the Rangiri Dambulla International Stadium in Dambulla this year. The Harmanpreet Kaur-led India Women clinched the T20I series 2-1 in Sri Lanka.

India vs Sri Lanka Women’s Asia Cup 2022 squads

India: Harmanpreet Kaur (captain), Smriti Mandhana (vice-captain), Deepti Sharma, Shafali Verma, Jemimah Rodrigues, Sabbineni Meghana, Richa Ghosh (wicket-keeper), Sneh Rana, Dayalan Hemalatha, Meghna Singh, Renuka Thakur, Pooja Vastrakar, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Radha Yadav, K.P. Navgire 

Sri Lanka: Chamari Athapaththu (captain), Hasini Perera, Harshitha Samarawickrama, Kaveesha Dilhari, Nilakshi de Silva, Anushka Sanjeevani (wicket-keeper), Kaushini Nuthyanga, Oshadhi Ranasinghe, Malsha Shehani, Madushika Meththananda, Inoka Ranaweera, Rashmi Silva, Sugandika Kumari, Achini Kulasooriya, Tharika Sewwandi

Where to watch India vs Sri Lanka Women’s Asia Cup 2022 match live in India?

The India vs Sri Lanka Women’s Asia Cup 2022 match will be telecast live from 1:00 PM IST on Star Sports 2 and Star Sports 2 HD TV channels in India on Saturday, October 1. 

Live streaming of the India vs Sri Lanka Women’s Asia Cup 2022 match will be available on the Disney+ Hotstar app and website.

Interested in cricket betting? Click here to check out the list of top sites

Featured photo: BCCI Women