India will lock horns with New Zealand in their final warm-up match ahead of the T20 World Cup 2022. The match is scheduled to commence at 1:30 PM on Wednesday, October 19, at The Gabba, Brisbane.

The Rohit Sharma-led side sealed a thrilling six-run win over hosts Australia in their first warm-up fixture courtesy of an outstanding final over by Mohammad Shami which saw Aussie tailenders succumb to some brilliant death bowling.

Asked to bat first, Team India got off to a flying start as opener KL Rahul reached his fifty within the first powerplay. Shortly after, Suryakumar Yadav notched yet another half-century to guide his side to a respectable 186/7 in 20 overs. Pacer Kane Richardson took four wickets for the hosts.

In reply, Australia too got off to a strong start as skipper Aaron Finch score a brisk 54-ball 76. However, India’s death bowling was the highlight of the day as the bowlers pulled things back to breeze past the Aussie line-up. 

Mohammad Shami, who was playing his first T20I since last year’s World Cup, was superb in the final over, which also happens to be his only contribution to the game. He took four wickets in the last four balls, including a run-out, to defend 11 runs and help his team snatch a victory.

On the other hand, New Zealand were thrashed by nine wickets in their warm-up game against South Africa. 

The Kiwis surrendered in front of a resilient Proteas’ bowling performance as they were bundled out for 98. Keshav Maharaj took three wickets  while Wayne Parnell and Tabraiz Shamsi scalped two wickets each. 

Chasing an ordinary target of 99, South Africa completed the formalities in just 11.2 overs. Rilee Rossouw scored a half-century as Ish Sodhi bagged the solitary wicket for New Zealand.

India vs New Zealand head-to-head

Team India boasts a superior record against New Zealand in the T20I format. In 20 matches, India have won on 11 instances whereas the Kiwis have come out on top in nine encounters.

India and New Zealand have faced each other thrice in T20 World Cups since the inception of the competition, with the Kiwis winning it on all three occasions.

The last bilateral series between the two sides saw India win the three-match T20I series by 3-0.

Where to watch India vs New Zealand T20 World Cup 2022 warm-up match live in India?

The India vs New Zealand T20 World Cup 2022 warm-up match will be telecast live on the Star Sports 1 and Star Sports 1 HD TV channels in India.

Live streaming of India vs New Zealand T20 World Cup 2022 warm-up match will be available on the Disney+ Hotstar app and website.

India vs New Zealand squads

India: Rohit Sharma (captain), KL Rahul (vice-captain), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Dinesh Karthik (wicket-keeper), Hardik Pandya, Ravichandran Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Harshal Patel, Arshdeep Singh, Mohammed Shami

New Zealand: Kane Williamson (captain), Finn Allen, Trent Boult, Michael Bracewell, Mark Chapman, Devon Conway (wicket-keeper), Lockie Ferguson, Martin Guptill, Adam Milne, Daryl Mitchell, Jimmy Neesham, Glenn Phillips (wicket-keeper), Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee


Interested in cricket betting? Click here to check out the list of top sites.

Featured photo: PRAKASH SINGH / AFP