After suffering a 2-3 T20I series defeat against West Indies, the Indian cricket team will look to bounce back against hosts Ireland in a three-match T20 international series starting on Friday, August 18.

The world’s top-ranked men’s T20I side India have announced a second-string squad for the Ireland series to be led by their bowling spearhead Jasprit Bumrah.

Bumrah will make his much-awaited return to the Indian team since his last competitive T20I match against Australia at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium in Hyderabad on September 25, 2022.

Meanwhile, young batting sensation Ruturaj Gaikwad has been named the vice-captain of the side.

Flamboyant batter Rinku Singh and swashbuckling wicketkeeper-batter Jitesh Sharma are some of the new faces in the squad who have been rewarded for his impressive performances in the Indian T20 League.

Karnataka pacer Prasidh Krishna has also been added to India’s T20I squad after recovering from injury.

Hardik Pandya, Suryakumar Yadav, Shubman Gill, Ishan Kishan, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav and Yuzvendra Chahal are some of the Indian stars who were part of the Indian T20I squad for the West Indies tour, but will not travel to Ireland.

Apart from several of the top Indian T20I cricketers, head coach Rahul Dravid, batting coach Vikram Rathour, and bowling coach Paras Mhambrey have been rested for the Ireland tour.

In the absence of Dravid, former domestic stalwart Sitanshu Kotak has been appointed India’s head coach for the upcoming three-match T20I series.

On the other hand, the Ireland cricket team has also announced their 15-man squad for the India series.

Ireland will be led by their accomplished T20I batter Paul Stirling. 

Leg-spinner Gareth Delany and all-rounder Fionn Hand have been recalled to Ireland’s squad.

All three T20Is of India’s tour of Ireland 2023 will be played at The Village Cricket Ground in Dublin. 

India vs Ireland T20I head-to-head

India have never lost to Ireland in T20 international cricket so far. The Men in Blue have won all five of their T20Is against the Irish side.

The Hardik Pandya-led India beat Ireland 2-0 in a two-match T20 series in Dublin last year.

Where to watch India vs Ireland T20I 2023 live in India?  

The India vs Ireland T20I 2023 will be telecast live on Sports 18 Khel, Sports 18 1 and Sports 18 1 HD TV channels in India.

Live streaming of the India vs Ireland T20I 2023 will be available on the JioCinema app and website.

India vs Ireland T20I 2023 schedule and live match times

All times in India Standard Time (IST)

Day and Date



Time (IST)

Friday, August 18

India vs Ireland, 1st T20I

The Village, Dublin

7:30 PM IST

Sunday, August 20

India vs Ireland, 2nd T20I

The Village, Dublin

7:30 PM IST

Friday, October 14

India vs Ireland, 3rd T20I

The Village, Dublin

7:30 PM IST

India vs Ireland T20I 2023 squads

India T20I squad: Jasprit Bumrah (captain), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Tilak Varma, Rinku Singh, Washington Sundar, Shivam Dube, Shahbaz Ahmed, Sanju Samson (wicket-keeper), Jitesh Sharma (wicket-keeper), Ravi Bishnoi, Prasidh Krishna, Arshdeep Singh, Mukesh Kumar, Avesh Khan

Ireland T20I squad: Paul Stirling (captain), Andrew Balbirnie, Ross Adair, Harry Tector, Gareth Delany, Curtis Campher, George Dockrell, Fionn Hand, Lorcan Tucker (wicket-keeper), Mark Adair, Joshua Little, Barry McCarthy, Theo van Woerkom, Benjamin White, Craig Young

Photo credit: Alamy