Off-spinner Nathan Lyon has been added in Australia's T20I squad for the India series as a replacement of injured Ashton Agar. In other developments, Cameron Green has been released from the team to play for Australia A's three-day tour game against India, to be played at Drummoyne Oval in Sydney on Sunday, Monday and Tuesday.

Furthermore, the Australia cricket team is currently sweating on the fitness of their captain Aaron Finch as they await the scan results of his hip injury, which he picked during the 1st T20I at the Manuka Oval. If the Australian captain is indeed ruled out, it remains to be seen who will take the leadership role as vice-captain Pat Cummins was rested in the first T20I, and Matthew Wade was named as Finch's deputy in the game.

There is, however, no shortage of leaders in the Australia team. It is said that Steve Smith might be recalled as a captain. But if that is not the case, all-rounder Moises Henriques has a leadership experience with New South Wales and the Sydney Sixers in the Big Bash League. Glenn Maxwell too has captained Melbourne Stars in the T20 tournament.

As far as Lyon is concerned, he hasn't played a T20I game since October 2018. In fact, his last international action came against New Zealand in a Test series in January 2020. The Aussies went with the likes of Mitchell Swepson and Adam Zampa as their spinning contingent in the 1st T20I against India.

India vs Australia 2nd T20I will be played at the iconic Sydney Cricket Ground on December 6.

India vs Australia T20I squad:

Australia T20 squad: Aaron Finch (c), Sean Abbott, Alex Carey, Josh Hazlewood, Moises Henriques, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Glenn Maxwell, Daniel Sams, D’Arcy Short, Steven Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Mitchell Swepson, Andrew Tye, Matthew Wade, Adam Zampa

India T20I squad: Virat Kohli (c), Shikhar Dhawan, Mayank Agarwal, KL Rahul (wicketkeeper), Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya, Sanju Samson (wk), Shardul Thakur, Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Navdeep Saini, Deepak Chahar, T Natarajan.

Feature image courtesy: AFP / Mahmoud Khaled