The Indian cricket team will host Australia in a three-match One-Day International (ODI) series starting on Friday, September 22.

Team India will head into the series brimming with confidence after clinching their eighth Asia Cup title. The Rohit Sharma-led India thrashed Sri Lanka by 10 wickets in the Asia Cup 2023 final at the R. Premadasa Stadium in Colombo on Sunday.

Heading into the final leg of their preparations ahead of the ICC World Cup 2023, India have rested captain Rohit Sharma and star batter Virat Kohli for the first two matches of the series. Both will return for the third and final ODI.

In the absence of Rohit, wicketkeeper-batter KL Rahul will lead India in the first two ODIs.

After his impressive showing in the recently-concluded Asia Cup, left-arm chinaman Kuldeep Yadav has also been rested for the first two matches against Australia.

Meanwhile, the Men in Blue will miss the services of all-rounder Axar Patel for the first two matches after suffering a left quadriceps strain against Bangladesh in Asia Cup. He is likely to be fit for the final ODI.

Veteran off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin and all-rounder Washington Sundar have been included in the Indian ODI squad.

All eyes will be on middle-order batter Shreyas Iyer, who has been added in the squad for all the three ODIs.

On the other hand, the Australian cricket team has reached India with a full strength 18-member squad.

The visitors will aim to bounce back after going down 2-3 in the five-match ODI series against South Africa.

The likes of captain Pat Cummins, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc and Glenn Maxwell have returned to the Australian ODI squad after missing the South Africa series. 

However, Australia will be without Travis Head, who fractured his left-hand during the fourth ODI against South Africa.

Uncapped players Matt Short and Spencer Johnson have been included in the 18-man squad for the three-match ODI series.

As per the Australia tour of India 2023 schedule, the first ODI will be played at the Punjab Cricket Association IS Bindra Stadium in Mohali on September 22. 

The two teams will later travel to Indore for the second ODI at the Holkar Cricket Stadium on September 24.

India and Australia will play the third and final ODI at the Saurashtra Cricket Association Stadium in Rajkot on September 27.

India vs Australia ODI head-to-head

The Australian cricket team holds a superior head-to-head record against India in ODI cricket. The five-time world champions have won 82 of the 146 ODIs that they have played against India so far. India have registered 54 victories. As many as 10 matches have ended with no results.

The last time these two sides met, Australia secured a 2-1 ODI series win in India earlier in March.

Where to watch India vs Australia ODI 2023 live?

The India vs Australia ODIs 2023 will be telecast live on Sports18 1 SD and Sports18 1 HD TV channels in India. Matches will also be available on Colors Tamil (Tamil), Colors Bangla Cinema (Bengali), Colors Kannada Cinema (Kannada) and Colors Cineplex Superhits (Hindi).

Live streaming of the IND vs AUS ODIs 2023 will be available on the JioCinema app and website.

India vs Australia ODIs 2023 schedule and live match times

All times in India Standard Time (IST)

Day and Date



Time (IST)

Friday, September 22

India vs Australia, 1st ODI

Punjab Cricket Association IS Bindra Stadium, Mohali

1:30 PM

Sunday, September 24

India vs Australia, 2nd ODI

Holkar Cricket Stadium, Indore

1:30 PM

Wednesday, September 27

India vs Australia,  3rd ODI

Saurashtra Cricket Association Stadium, Rajkot

1:30 PM

India vs Australia ODIs 2023 squads

India (for first two ODIs):  KL Rahul (captain/wicket-keeper), Ravindra Jadeja (vice-captain), Shubman Gill, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shreyas Iyer, Ishan Kishan (wicket-keeper), Suryakumar Yadav, Shardul Thakur, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj, Mohammed Shami, Tilak Varma, Prasidh Krishna, Ravichandran Ashwin, Washington Sundar

(For third ODI): Rohit Sharma (captain), Hardik Pandya (vice-captain, Shubman Gill, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul (wicket-keeper), Ishan Kishan (wicket-keeper), Suryakumar Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj, Mohammed Shami, Virat Kohli, Kuldeep Yadav, Axar Patel (subject to fitness), R Ashwin, Washington Sundar

Australia: Pat Cummins (captain), Sean Abbott, Alex Carey (wicket-keeper), Nathan Ellis, Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Josh Inglis (wicket-keeper), Spencer Johnson, Marnus Labuschagne, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Tanveer Sangha, Matt Short, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, David Warner, Adam Zampa

Photo credit: Alamy