The Indian cricket team created history on Tuesday as they became the first side to beat Australia at The Gabba in over 32 years. The visitors defeated Australia by three wickets in the fourth and final Test in Brisbane to retain the Border-Gavaskar Trophy, winning the series 2-1. 

India rode on Rishabh Pant’s swashbuckling innings of 89 runs to chase down 328 in 97 overs.

Earlier, Shubman Gill and Cheteshwar Pujara also scored 91 and 56 runs respectively.

This is also the first time Australia have not won at The Gabba since 2012.

Meanwhile, Twitterati congratulated Team India on their historic victory at the Gabba. 

Earlier in the series, the hosts had won the pink-ball Adelaide Test while India bounced back with a victory in Melbourne. The third Test in Sydney had ended in a draw.

Interestingly, India had won a historic Test series in Australia two years back and now the Ajinkya Rahane-led side has clinched back-to-back series Down Under.

Feature image courtesy: Patrick HAMILTON / AFP