After a disappointing Asia Cup 2022 campaign, the Indian cricket team will look to bounce back when they square off against Australia in a three-match T20I series starting on Tuesday, September 20.

The first T20I of the series will be played at Punjab Cricket Association IS Bindra Stadium in Mohali while the second match is scheduled at Vidarbha Cricket Association Stadium in Nagpur on September 23. The final match of Australia’s tour of India 2022 will take place at Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium in Hyderabad on September 25.

Led by talismanic captain Rohit Sharma, India will hope to make best use of the T20I series against the mighty Australians to prepare for the upcoming ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022 scheduled to be held in Australia in October-November.

Ahead of the forthcoming Australia series, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has announced a 16-member squad.

Fast bowlers Jasprit Bumrah and Harshal Patel have returned to the squad after recovering from a back injury and a side strain, respectively. Both the players underwent rehab at the National Cricket Academy in Bengaluru.

Swashbuckling batters Rishabh Pant and Dinesh Karthik have retained their place in the T20I set-up ahead of Sanju Samson.

Axar Patel has also been included in the squad as a like-for-like replacement for star all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja, who recently underwent knee injury and has been ruled out of upcoming India’s assignments.

Additionally, ahead of the first T20 in Mohali, pacer Mohammed Shami, who was a surprise inclusion in India’s T20I squad, has tested positive for Covid-19 and been ruled out of the three-match series. Fast bowler Umesh Yadav has been drafted into the squad and is likely to play his first T20I since 2019.

Defending T20 World Cup champions Australia will be led by Aaron Finch in their short tour of India.

The visitors will miss the services of Mitchell Starc, Mitchell Marsh and Marcus Stoinis due to injuries. While Starc has been ruled out due to a knee injury, Marsh and Stoinis are suffering from ankle injury and side strain, respectively.

Nathan Ellis, Daniel Sams and Sean Abbott have been named replacements for the India series.

Singapore-born cricketer Tim David is expected to make his Australia debut in the upcoming T20I series in India. David received his maiden Australia call-up following his impressive showing in T20 Leagues across the globe. The 26-year-old has already played 11 T20Is for Singapore, amassing 429 runs at an average of 47.67. He is, however, eligible to play for Australia immediately under ICC rules.

Australia head into the India series after whitewashing arch-rivals New Zealand 3-0 in a three-match ODI series.

India vs Australia 2022 T20I squads

India: Rohit Sharma (captain), KL Rahul (vice-captain), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Dinesh Karthik (wicket-keeper), Hardik Pandya, Ravichandran Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Harshal Patel, Deepak Chahar, Jasprit Bumrah, Umesh Yadav

Australia: Aaron Finch (captain), Steve Smith, Tim David, Glenn Maxwell, Ashton Agar, Cameron Green, Josh Inglis (wicket-keeper), Matthew Wade (wicket-keeper), Pat Cummins, Josh Hazlewood, Kane Richardson, Adam Zampa, Nathan Ellis, Daniel Sams, Sean Abbott

India vs Australia 2022 schedule, fixtures and live match times

All times are in India Standard Time (IST)

Day and Date


Time (IST)


Tuesday, September 20

India vs Australia, 1st T20I

7:30 PM IST

Punjab Cricket Association IS Bindra Stadium, Mohali

Friday, September 23

India vs Australia, 2nd T20I

7:30 PM IST

Vidarbha Cricket Association Stadium, Nagpur

Sunday, September 25

India vs Australia, 3rd T20I

7:30 PM IST

Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium, Hyderabad

Where to watch India vs Australia 2022 series live in India?  

The India vs Australia 2022 T20I series will be telecast live on Star Sports 1, Star Sports 1 Hindi and their respective HD TV channels in India.

For regional coverage,  India vs Australia 2022 T20I matches will be live on Star Sports 1 Tamil, Star Sports 1 Telugu and Star Sports 1 Kannada.

Live streaming of the India vs Australia 2022 T20I series will be available on the Disney+ Hotstar app and website. 

SportsAdda will bring you India vs Australia 2022 T20I series live scores.

Interested in cricket betting? Click here to check out the list of top sites.

Featured photo: WILLIAM WEST / AFP