Newcomers Lucknow etched their name into the record books for the highest successful run chase in the Indian T20 League, as they chased down Chennai’s target of 210 in their Indian T20 League 2022 game at the Brabourne Stadium in Mumbai on Thursday, March 31.

Lucknow rode on the efforts of Quinton de Kock (61 runs of 45 balls) and Evin Lewis (55 runs of 23 balls) to beat Ravindra Jadeja's Chennai by six-wickets with three balls to spare.

Put to bat first, Chennai reached 100 runs in 9.1 overs, but a 60-run partnership for the fourth wicket and a six-ball 16 from MS Dhoni propelled the defending champions to 210/7.

In response, KL Rahul and Co. made a confident start with 50 runs in the powerplay before losing four wickets between overs 10 and 15.

While Evin Lewis remained unbeaten at the crease during the death overs, the West Indian batter received support from Deepak Hooda (13 runs off eight balls) and Ayush Badoni (19 runs off nine balls) to plot a score of 211/4 in 19.3 overs, at a run rate of 10.82.

Highest successful run chase in the Indian T20 League

Rajasthan holds the record for the highest successful run chase in the Indian T20 League. In the 2020 edition, Rajasthan chased down Punjab’s target of 223 despite losing an early wicket. After KL Rahul’s men posted a score of 222/2 on the back of a Mayank Agarwal century, Steve Smith and Co. secured a four-wicket win riding on 50-plus knocks of Smith, Sanju Samson and Rahul Tewatia.

Team Score Target Opponent Year
Rajasthan 226/6 223 Punjab 2020
Mumbai 219/6 219 Chennai 2021
Rajasthan 217/7 215 Deccan 2008
Mumbai 216/4 215 Punjab 2023
Hyderabad 217/6 215 Rajasthan 2023
Lucknow 213/9 213 Bangalore 2023
Lucknow 211/4 211 Chennai 2022

Featured photo: Twitter / Lucknow Super Giants