In December 2016, Otago blazed away to 249/3 courtesy a 46-ball hundred by Hamish Rutherford in a Super Smash match, a domestic Twenty20 cricket competition, against Central Districts at the Pukekura Park in New Plymouth.

The score should have been enough. Instead, Sri Lanka batsman Mahela Jayawardene smashed a 48-ball century to keep Central Districts in the hunt. But with eight needed off the final over, Neil Wagner defended the total to help Otago clinch a thriller by one run.

Central Districts scored 248/4 and set the record for the highest run chase in T20 cricket against in 2016.

Interestingly, this record-breaking 497-run match became the highest-aggregated T20 ever.

“I’m sure it’s something everyone will remember for a long time,” Hamish Rutherford said after the match.

In Twenty20 Internationals, the Australian cricket team holds the record for the highest run chase in T20, which they had pulled off to win against New Zealand at Eden Park in Auckland in February 2018.

Having won the toss, New Zealand rode on a blitzkrieg hundred from opener Martin Guptill (105 off 54 balls) and a scintillating fifty by his partner Colin Munro (76 off 33) to post a mammoth total of 243/6 in their quota of 20 overs.

In reply, Australia openers David Warner and D Arcy Short slammed quick-fire fifties to set the tone of the chase. While David Warner hammered 59 runs off just 24 balls, D Arcy Short scored a 44-ball 76 to keep the Aussies in the hunt for the world-record run chase.

With Australia needing 42 from 24 balls, Glenn Maxwell (31 off 14) and Aaron Finch (36 off 14) played a blinder to pull off the highest successful run chase in T20 cricket (245/5), with seven balls to spare.

The Indian cricket team’s highest run chase in T20 is 244/4 against the West Indies in 2016. India lost the match by 1 run. 

India’s highest successful run chase in T20 cricket is 211/4 vs Sri Lanka in Chandigarh in 2009, registering the win in 19.1 overs. Yuvraj Singh starred on the day with an unbeaten 60 in just 25 balls.

In the Indian T20 League, Rajasthan hold the record for registering the highest run chase in the high-profile league.

Chasing 224 to win, Rajasthan all-rounder Rahul Tewatia smashed five sixes off pacer Sheldon Cottrell as his 31-ball 53 runs set up a record-breaking win for his side against Punjab.

Highest run chase in T20

Score Team        Opposition       Result  Year
248/4 Central District (20.0)  Otago    Lost 2016
245/5 Australia (18.5)  New Zealand Won 2018
244/4 India (20.0)   West Indies        Lost        2016
242/6 Patriots (18.5)    Tallawahs   Won 2019
236/6    West Indies (19.2)   South Africa  Won 2015
231/5    Bears (20.0)  Northants    Tied 2018
230/8 England (19.4) South Africa Won 2016
228/6  Puducherry (19.2) Andhra Won 2021
227/4 Middlesex (17.0) Somerset Won 2019
226/3 Sussex (18.3) Essex Won 2014
226/5 England (19.1) South Africa Won  2021
226/6 Rajasthan (19.3) Punjab Won 2021


Featured photo: MICHAEL BRADLEY / AFP