Australian pacer Nathan Ellis became the first player to take a hat-trick on his T20I debut when he did so during Australia’s third T20I against Bangladesh at the Shere Bangla National Stadium in Mirpur on Friday. 

Ellis, who replaced Mitchell Starc in the Australian playing XI, was hit for 29 runs in his first three overs. However, captain Matthew Wade entrusted the debutant to bowl the final over of the innings and the 26-year-old came up trumps.

His first delivery to Mahedi Hasan was a dot ball, followed by a single after an inside edge. Mahmudullah then hit the Australian for a boundary on the third ball but history beckoned for Ellis soon after. 

Mahmudullah missed Ellis’ swing and the ball clipped his stumps as a result on the fourth ball of the Australian’s over. 

Out came Mustafizur Rahman but his stay at the crease didn’t last long as he fell to Ellis after the Bangladeshi bowler failed to get power and distance on his shot, hauling out to Mitchell Marsh, who was on hand to take a catch at deep mid wicket.

With a hat-trick on sight, Ellis dismissed Mahedi Hasan with the final delivery of the innings. The 26-year-old went with a short ball and Hasan’s pull shot was caught by Ashton Agar at deep square.

This is how the over panned out:

19.1: Ellis to Mahedi Hasan - dot ball

19.2: Ellis to Mahedi Hasan - single taken

19.3: Ellis to Mahmudullah - boundary behind square

19.4: Ellis to Mahmudullah - WICKET (clean bowled)

19.5: Ellis to Mustafizur Rahman - WICKET (catch taken at deep midwicket)

19.6: Ellis to Mahedi Hasan - WICKET (catch taken at deep square)

While Nathan Ellis is the first and only bowler to pick a hat-trick on his T20I debut, there are as many as four bowlers who have done so in the 50-over format. The list includes the likes of Kagiso Rabada (South Africa), Taijul Islam (Bangladesh), Wanindu Hasranga (Sri Lanka) and Shehan Madushanka (Sri Lanka).

As far as Test cricket is concerned, only three players - Maurice Allom (England), Peter Petherick (New Zealand) and Damien Fleming (Australia) - have achieved the feat.

Featured photo: AFP / Munir Uz Zaman