After a three-year hiatus due to the COVID-19 pandemic, Global T20 Canada is all set to return with a bang for its third edition, starting on Thursday, July 20, 2023.

Organised by Cricket Canada, this 20-over competition which is recognised by the International Cricket Council (ICC) will be hosted at Brampton Sports Park from July 20 to August 6.

Six franchises will be participating in this tournament and each side will have as many as 16 players from full and associate nations. The teams will include two world-renowned players, three Canadian national team talents, and three emerging Canadian players. 

A total of 25 matches will be played over the course of 18 days and cricket enthusiasts in Canada can look forward to some big stars in action if the first two editions of the tournament are anything to go by.

The first two editions of Global T20 Canada saw household names like Chris Gayle, Lasith Malinga, Yuvraj Singh, Kieron Pollard, Thisara Perera, Andre Russell, Shahid Afridi, David Warner, Steve Smith, Brendon McCullum, Shoaib Malik, Daren Sammy, JP Duminy, Lendl Simmons, and David Warner participate in the tournament.

The teams had big-name mentors in the previous editions as well with stars like Wasim Akram, Mahela Jayawardene, and Brian Lara, all sharing their knowledge with youngsters in the team. 

The franchises also had renowned coaches like Phil Simmons, Tom Moody, and Stephen Fleming in the dugout.

The first edition of Global T20 Canada took place in 2018 and the second was held in 2019. The six teams that featured in the last edition of the tournament were Brampton Wolves, Montreal Tigers, Surrey Jaguars, Toronto Nationals, Vancouver Knights, and Winnipeg Hawks.

The winners of the first season of the Global T20 League were Vancouver Knights, while Winnipeg Hawks were the winners of Season 2. The champions of Season 3 will be known on August 6, which is the final day of the third edition of the tournament.

Photo credit: Alamy