Having lost the opening T20I by 18 runs under the DLS method, the Indian women's cricket team will aim to level the three-match series against hosts England in the second T20I which will be played at the County Ground in Hove on Sunday, July 11.

Chasing a daunting target of 178, the visitors lost their swashbuckling opener Shafali Verma without troubling the scorers. Meanwhile, Shafali’s opening partner Smriti Mandhana looked in great touch, scoring a blitzkrieg 17-ball 29 before she was dismissed by Natalie Sciver. India’s T20 captain Harmanpreet Kaur’s poor run of form continued as she gave her wicket away to Sarah Glenn

With India reeling at 54/3, rain interrupted play as the visitors fell behind the DLS par score. The first T20I had to be called off as the rain gods showed no mercy.

Earlier, put into bat, the England women’s cricket team rode on Sciver's 55 off just 27 balls and Amy Jones' 27-ball 43 to reach 177/7 in their quota of 20 overs. 

For India, Shikha Pandey was the standout bowler, picking three wickets for just 22 runs in her four overs.

The highlight of the encounter was Indian fielder Harleen Deol’s jaw-dropping catch to dismiss Amy Jones at the boundary rope. The 23-year-old Himachal Pradesh cricketer pulled off a stunning catch as she caught the ball mid-air before she threw the ball into play and then stepped over the boundary, and later dived forward to complete one of the best catches in women’s cricket history.

Heading into the second T20I, the form of Harmanpreet Kaur will be a massive concern for the Indian team as she has managed just 48 runs in five innings on India’s tour of England. However, both India and England are expected to remain unchanged for the second T20I on Sunday.

England women vs India women 2nd T20I (probable XI) 

England XI (probable): Tammy Beaumont, Danni Wyatt, Natalie Sciver, Heather Knight (captain), Amy Jones (wicket-keeper), Sophia Dunkley,  Katherine Brunt, Sophie Ecclestone, Sarah Glenn, Mady Villiers, Freya Davies

India XI (probable): Smriti Mandhana, Shafali Verma, Harleen Deol, Harmanpreet Kaur (captain), Deepti Sharma, Richa Ghosh (wicket-keeper), Sneh Rana, Arundhati Reddy, Shikha Pandey, Radha Yadav, Pooja Yadav

Where to watch England women vs India women 2nd T20I live in India?

The England women vs India women second T20I will be telecast live at 7 PM IST on the Sony Ten 1 and Sony Ten 1 HD TV channels in India on Sunday, July 11. 

Live streaming of the England women vs India women second T20I will also be available on SonyLIV and JIO TV.

Featured photo: Twitter / BCCI Women