The England cricket team will host ICC World Test Championship (WTC) holders New Zealand in a three-match Test series starting on Thursday, June 2.

Having registered just one win in their last 17 Test matches, England will start a new era having appointed former New Zealand captain Brendon McCullum as their new head coach for the longest format. McCullum is the successor to former head coach Chris Silverwood.

England will also be led by new captain Ben Stokes, who has been named the skipper after Joe Root decided to step down from his post at the end of April.

Meanwhile, England have announced a 13-member squad for the first two Tests against New Zealand. The hosts have recalled veteran pacers James Anderson and Stuart Broad after they were left out for the West Indies tour earlier this year.

Yorkshire’s Harry Brook and Matthew Potts of Durham have received their maiden England call-ups for the series. While Brooks has amassed 758 runs at a staggering average of 151.60 in the County Championship this season, Potts has been the leading wicket-taker with 35 scalps.

On the other hand, Kane Williamson returns to the New Zealand squad having not played a single Test since November last year.

The New Zealand cricket team have also added wicket-keeper batter Michael Bracewell for the first time in the Test squad. Bracewell, who has been included as the second wicket-keeper behind Tom Bundell, has scored 725 and 190 runs in 2020-21 and 2021-22 first-class seasons. He has already played three ODIs for the Blackcaps.

Wicketkeeper-batter Cam Fletcher and pacer Blair Tickner have also been included in the New Zealand Test squad. 

The three-match Test series is part of the ICC World Test Championship 2021-23. 

The first Test of the series will be played at Lord’s followed by the second Test at Trent Bridge. The final Test is scheduled at Leeds.

England vs New Zealand Tests 2022 squads

England (for first two Tests): Ben Stokes (captain), James Anderson, Jonathan Bairstow (wicket-keeper), Stuart Broad, Harry Brook, Zak Crawley, Ben Foakes (wicket-keeper), Jack Leach, Alex Lees, Craig Overton, Matthew Potts, Ollie Pope, Joe Root

New Zealand: Kane Williamson (captain), Tom Blundell (wicket-keeper), Trent Boult, Michael Bracewell (wicket-keeper), Devon Conway, Colin de Grandhomme, Jacob Duffy, Cameron Fletcher, Matt Henry, Kyle Jamieson, Tom Latham, Daryl Mitchell, Henry Nicholls, Ajaz Patel, Rachin Ravindra, Hamish Rutherford, Tim Southee, Blair Tickner, Neil Wagner, Will Young

England vs New Zealand Tests 2022 schedule and live India match times

All times in India Standard Time (IST)





June 2-6

England vs New Zealand, 1st Test

Lord’s, London

3:30 PM

June 10-14

England vs New Zealand, 2nd Test

Trent Bridge, Nottingham

3:30 PM

June 23-27

England vs New Zealand, 3rd Test

Headingley, Leeds

3:30 PM

Where to watch England vs New Zealand Tests 2022 live in India?

England vs New Zealand Test series 2022 will be telecast live on Sony Six, Sony Ten 3 and their respective HD TV channels in India.

Live streaming of New Zealand’s tour of England 2022 will be available on the SonyLiv app and website.

SportsAdda will bring you England vs New Zealand Tests live scores.

Play fantasy cricket with SportsAdda. Create your team, track your progress and win prizes. Start here.

Follow us on Telegram for the latest updates from the world of sports!

Interested in cricket betting? Click here to check out the list of top sites.

Featured photo: Randy Brooks / AFP