The England cricket team will host New Zealand in a four-match T20 international series starting on Wednesday, August 30.

As per the New Zealand tour of England 2023 schedule, the first T20I of the series will be played at the Riverside Ground in Chester-le-Street, County Durham. The two teams will later travel to Manchester for the second T20I at the Old Trafford Cricket Ground on September 1.

The third match of the series is scheduled to be played at the Edgbaston Cricket Ground on September 3, before the fourth and final T20I is played at Trent Bridge in Nottingham.

The world’s second-ranked men’s T20I side has announced their 15-man squad to be led by Jos Buttler. Moeen Ali, Jonny Bairstow, Harry Brook, Liam Livingstone, Dawid Malan, Sam Curran and Adi Rashid are some of the other established T20I players in the England squad.

Ahead of the series, uncapped right-arm pacer John Turner has been ruled out due to an injury. Brydon Carse has been called into England's squad as Turner’s replacement.

On the other hand, the New Zealand cricket team will head into the England series after beating United Arab Emirates (UAE) 2-1 in a three-match T20I series in Dubai.

Tim Southee will once again captain New Zealand in the upcoming four-match T20I series.

Ranked third in the ICC Men’s T20I rankings, New Zealand will miss the services of their star all-rounder James Neesham, who will return to New Zealand to be alongside his wife ahead of the birth of their first child.

In the absence of Neesham, New Zealand have added all-rounder Cole McConchie in their T20I squad. 

The visitors will also be without their talisman Kane Williamson, who is yet to recover from his serious knee injury.

England vs New Zealand T20I head-to-head

England have an impressive head-to-head record against New Zealand in T20 international cricket, winning 14 of the 23 matches that they have played so far. New Zealand have secured eight victories, while one match ended with no result.

The last time these two sides met, England registered a 20-run victory over New Zealand in their ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022 clash at The Gabba in Brisbane.

Where to watch England vs New Zealand T20I 2023 live in India?  

The England vs New Zealand T20I 2023 will be telecast live on Sony Sports Network’s TV channels in India.

Live streaming of the England vs New Zealand T20I 2023 will be available on the SonyLIV app and website in India.

England vs New Zealand T20I 2023 schedule and live match times

All times in India Standard Time (IST)

Day and Date



Time (IST)

Wednesday, August 30

England vs New Zealand, 1st T20I

Riverside Ground, Chester-le-Street

10:30 PM IST

Friday, September 1

England vs New Zealand, 2nd T20I

Emirates Old Trafford, Manchester

10:30 PM IST

Sunday, September 3

England vs New Zealand, 3rd T20I

Edgbaston, Birmingham

7:00 PM IST

Tuesday, September 5

England vs New Zealand, 4th T20I

Trent Bridge, Nottingham

10:30 PM IST

England vs New Zealand T20I 2023 squads

England T20I squad: Jos Buttler (captain/wicket-keeper), Moeen Ali, Jonny Bairstow (wicket-keeper), Harry Brook, Ben Duckett, Liam Livingstone, Dawid Malan, Will Jacks, Gus Atkinson, Brydon Carse, Chris Jordan, Luke Wood, Sam Curran, Rehan Ahmed, Adil Rashid

New Zealand T20I squad: Tim Southee (captain), Finn Allen, Mark Chapman, Devon Conway (wicket-keeper), Lockie Ferguson, Matt Henry, Kyle Jamieson, Cole McConchie, Adam Milne, Daryl Mitchell, Glenn Phillips (wicket-keeper), Rachin Ravindra, Mitchell Santner, Tim Seifert (wicket-keeper), Ish Sodhi

Photo credit: Alamy