The England cricket team will square off against New Zealand in a four-match One-Day International (ODI) series starting on Friday, September 8.

After going down 0-2 in the four-match T20I series, the New Zealand cricket team produced a stunning comeback to win the final two T20Is as the Kiwis drew the recently-concluded series 2-2. 

Both England and New Zealand will aim to make use of the ODI series to prepare themselves for the upcoming ICC World Cup 2023 to be held in India.

According to the New Zealand tour of England 2023 schedule, the first ODI will be played at the Sophia Gardens Cricket Ground in Cardiff on September 8. 

The second will be hosted at The Rose Bowl in Southampton on September 10, while the third ODI will take place at the Kennington Oval in London on September 13.

The fourth and final ODI will be hosted at Lord’s in London on September 15.

Currently ranked fifth in the ICC men’s ODI team rankings, England have announced their squad to be led by captain Jos Buttler. 

The hosts have also named their star all-rounder Ben Stokes in the ODI squad against New Zealand. 

Stokes, who was the Player of the Match in the World Cup 2019 final, had announced his retirement from ODI cricket in July 2022. However, Stokes has decided to reverse his decision ahead of the ICC World Cup 2023.

Young Surrey right-arm pacer Gus Atkinson has also received his maiden ODI call-up.

On the other hand, wicketkeeper-batter Tom Latham will captain New Zealand in the upcoming ODI series in the United Kingdom. 

Veteran left-arm fast bowler Trent Boult and fellow pacer Kyle Jamieson have returned to New Zealand's ODI squad ahead of the marquee World Cup.

The world’s fourth-ranked ODI side will miss the services of their accomplished all-rounder Michael Bracewell due to an Achilles injury. The likes of Mark Chapman and Jimmy Neesham will also give the ODI series a miss as they await the births of their first children. 

New Zealand have received a massive boost as regular captain Kane Williamson has been training with the squad in their tour of England.

Williamson has been named in the New Zealand’s ICC World Cup ODI squad as he looks to recover from his knee injury. 

England vs New Zealand ODI head-to-head

New Zealand hold a slight edge over England in their ODI head-to-head record, winning 43 of the 91 matches that they have played so far. England have registered 41 victories against the Kiwis in the 50-over format.

The last time these two sides met in the ODI format, England pipped New Zealand on boundary count in the historic ICC World Cup 2019 final at the iconic Lord’s to clinch their maiden 50-over world title.

Where to watch England vs New Zealand ODI 2023 live in India?  

The England vs New Zealand ODIs 2023 will be telecast live on Sony Sports Ten 1 and Sony Sports Ten 1 HD TV channels in India.

Live streaming of the England vs New Zealand ODIs 2023 will be available on the SonyLIV app and website in India.

England vs New Zealand ODI 2023 schedule and live match times

All times in India Standard Time (IST)

Day and Date



Time (IST)

Friday, September 8

England vs New Zealand, 1st ODI

Sophia Gardens, Cardiff

5:00 PM IST

Sunday, September 10

England vs New Zealand, 2nd ODI

The Rose Bowl, Southampton

3:30 PM IST

Wednesday, September 13

England vs New Zealand, 3rd ODI

Kennington Oval, London

5:00 PM IST

Friday, September 15

England vs New Zealand, 4th ODI

Lord's, London

5:00 PM IST

England vs New Zealand ODI 2023 squads

England ODI squad: Jos Buttler (captain/wicket-keeper), Moeen Ali, Jonny Bairstow (wicket-keeper), Sam Curran, Liam Livingstone, Dawid Malan, Joe Root, Jason Roy, Ben Stokes, Chris Woakes, David Willey, Mark Wood, Gus Atkinson, Reece Topley, Adil Rashid

New Zealand ODI squad: Tom Latham (captain/wicket-keeper), Finn Allen, Trent Boult, Devon Conway (wicket-keeper), Lockie Ferguson, Matt Henry, Kyle Jamieson, Adam Milne, Daryl Mitchell, Henry Nicholls, Glenn Phillips (wicket-keeper), Rachin Ravindra, Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee, Will Young

Photo credit: Alamy